ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Crescent
21.9%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
1:38 am
Perth
10:38 pm
Auckland*
3:38 am
New York
9:38 am
Paris
3:38 pm
GMT
2:38 pm




  #1  
Old 24-04-2017, 05:39 PM
jamespierce (James)
Registered User

jamespierce is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 227
An expected night - 23/4/17 - Victoria

The forecast wasn't great but we headed to the ASV dark site anyway for the weekend. The fact we were the only punters there should be a hint. Saturday night no good. We nearly drove home, but Sunday night we stuck it out against our better judgement... Well we were rewarded.

Some of the best views I've ever had of Jupiter, Red Spot transit ... amazing detail in the equatorial bands and beyond. Just beautiful.

It was a decent deep sky evening too - bit too much dew, and some damp in the atmosphere for sure but still nice. We punched through a bunch of objects but here were a few highlights.

NGC 3521 - Nicely elongated galaxy in Leo
NGC 3576 - Little Tarantula - Little Bright Neb.
NGC 3623 - M65 - Part of the triplet
NGC 3627 - M66 - Part 2 of the triplet
IC 2948 - Running Chicken Bright Nebula - Large, diffuse, beautiful
NGC4038, 4039 - The Antenna ... Not as dramatic visually as photographically but still nice.
NGC 4254 - M99 - Beautiful face on spiral.
NGC 4030 - M61
NGC 4030 - M100
NGC 4372 - Globular Cluster in Musca - Bigger than you expect.
NGC 4594 - M104 - The Sombrero ... always amazing

It's a great time of year to be looking up... Get out there gang.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25-04-2017, 06:10 PM
The Mekon's Avatar
The Mekon (John B)
Registered User

The Mekon is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bowral NSW
Posts: 566
James, I also was surprised at the sky quality on Sunday night. Up here in Bowral things did not look good early in the day but by 1900hrs it was a joy to be out under the stars. (dew problems aside)
Had my 106mm refractor out and as you say the views of Jupiter at around 9pm were awesome.
Most of the evening was spent in Hydra and Centaurus, with the deep sky highlight being NGC 3621 - considerable mottling visible on quite an extended object. Have seen this at other times in the 18" but it really showed well in the smaller refractor on Sunday night.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 12:38 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement