Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Equipment Discussions

Old 06-10-2020, 08:10 PM
Spacepirate (Adam)

My first noobtacular question: zoomification

Good evening folks.

I am completely new to astronomy and astrophotography. My better looking half bought me a nice shiny telescope (https://www.celestron.com/products/n...on-8-telescope), with a few eyepieces (6mm, 13mm, and 40mm).

Finding Mars is easy enough. But all I see is a bright white dot, with any of those eyepieces, even when I get the sharpest focus.

Am I doing something obviously wrong?
Old 06-10-2020, 08:26 PM
sunslayr (David)

Mars is quite small you might need at least a 2x Barlow with your highest magnification eyepiece (6mm) to see detail, take at peek at Jupiter or Saturn in the early evening, it should give you better view if planets is what you're after.
Old 06-10-2020, 08:39 PM
raymo

Are you sure that you are looking at Mars? With a focal length of 2032mm
your 6mm eyepiece will give a mag of 338x, more than enough to see it as
a small disc, and it should have an orangey tint.
raymo
Old 06-10-2020, 08:47 PM
astro744

Mars should be a distinctly orange disk even with the 13mm eyepiece. The 6mm on your telescope requires exceptional seeing which with current weather on the east coast is not happening. You also need to allow the telescope to come to ambient temperature.

If you’re seeing a white dot it could be another target although I have heard many a beginner describe Mars as a white blob. Colours are subtle but Mars is definitely orange. Try the other planets two bright planets directly overhead early evening, namely Jupiter and Saturn.
Old 07-10-2020, 01:25 PM
mental4astro (Alexander)
kids+wife+scopes=happyman

Hello Adam,

to IIS!