Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > ATM and DIY Projects

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21  
Old 23-04-2020, 10:10 AM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,303
Vendor promised the new controller in couple of days..
In the meantime, I tried the circuit discussed earlier (it is basically dimmer, 20Acapacity).. and it works OK, as expected. Probably not any worse than original controller (apart from overload protection and whatever else non-obvious features are implemented).
So - lathe is operational as of now

Last edited by bojan; 23-04-2020 at 10:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 23-04-2020, 02:01 PM
Symon's Avatar
Symon (Simon)
Registered User

Symon is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Corinella Australia
Posts: 32
That's great news Seeing your lathe, has renewed my enthusiasm and I have been tinkering with mine making a hand mandrel for it, at the moment to help with threading.
Simon
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 23-04-2020, 02:36 PM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,303
Quote:
Originally Posted by Symon View Post
That's great news Seeing your lathe, has renewed my enthusiasm and I have been tinkering with mine making a hand mandrel for it, at the moment to help with threading.
Simon

My next project with lathe will be adding steppers... turning manual into CNC.. but not now
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 23-04-2020, 02:59 PM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 19,855
Good to hear you're getting a replacement board.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 28-04-2020, 03:14 PM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,303
Now, this situation is becoming ridiculous...
The new controller arrived today, I installed it in the machine... and nothing, no "m" of motor moving... but this time indicator LED (at one of processor's output) was ON..
All connections seems to be OK....
I applied external 12V to board and there is PWM on FET's gate.. so this time I have board with faulty FET.
Plan now is to transfer (probably) good FET from old board to new one and see what happens...
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 28-04-2020, 10:57 PM
Symon's Avatar
Symon (Simon)
Registered User

Symon is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Corinella Australia
Posts: 32
Sorry to hear about your setback . Yes cnc would be nice
Simon
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 29-04-2020, 11:36 AM
Pepper (Steve)
Registered User

Pepper is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Tamworth
Posts: 241
Did you end up fixing it?
I’ve been looking at something similar but reviews are very mixed.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 29-04-2020, 03:36 PM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,303
Yes..
The original problem was in faulty wire-wound potentiometer, the wire was broken on one place and when I was turning the knob the wire touched the metal enclosure of the potentiometer, so the processor input was put directly to 340V and consequently destroyed..

After replacing the pot with new one, the second board works as intended.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (DSC_0282.jpg)
206.4 KB93 views
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 29-04-2020, 05:27 PM
Symon's Avatar
Symon (Simon)
Registered User

Symon is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Corinella Australia
Posts: 32
Great news look forward to seeing some of your projects
Simon
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 30-04-2020, 07:33 AM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,303
Quote:
Originally Posted by Symon View Post
Great news look forward to seeing some of your projects
Simon
So am I
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 23-05-2020, 11:30 AM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,303
Saga continues...

Electronics is still not sorted out 100%, I discovered the minimum head speed is ~ 180rpm, too fast for threads..

I am sure they send me the wrong controller, it is probably suitable for US (110V AC).

I tried with variac, and yes, min speed is correct at 110VAC, but then the safety switch doesn't work.

So I asked for another one, it is on its way now...
In the meantime I had a look at mechanics.. and found one thrust bearing broken.. already replaced.
The cross slide lead screw doesn't have any bearings, 10mm shaft sits on edge of 9mm bore in aluminium bracket !!!!.
So I widened the bore (using step drill on the same lathe, mounted in tailstock) so I can insert the ball bearing (8x16x5mm, the only one that fits into available space). It is radial type, not ideal for the purpose but it should be way better than original "design". I will also insert the front bearing, but not right now, for this I need access to another lathe.
I can't say I am bored as SIS .
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (c_03.jpg)
37.1 KB42 views
Click for full-size image (DSC_0289.jpg)
201.1 KB50 views
Click for full-size image (DSC_0315.jpg)
173.8 KB50 views
Click for full-size image (DSC_0314.jpg)
184.3 KB53 views
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 23-05-2020, 11:53 AM
Merlin66's Avatar
Merlin66 (Ken)
Spectroscopy Wizard

Merlin66 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St Leonards, Vic
Posts: 7,932
Bojan,
This was a brand new machine, yes???????
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 23-05-2020, 12:02 PM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 19,855
Quote:
Originally Posted by bojan View Post
In the meantime I had a look at mechanics.. and found one thrust bearing broken.. already replaced.
Wow! a whole ball is missing?
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 23-05-2020, 12:25 PM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,303
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merlin66 View Post
Bojan,
This was a brand new machine, yes???????
Yes, brand new...
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 23-05-2020, 12:30 PM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,303
Quote:
Originally Posted by multiweb View Post
Wow! a whole ball is missing?
Well, not missing really... only crashed, I found half of it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (DSC_0318.jpg)
150.2 KB39 views

Last edited by bojan; 24-05-2020 at 09:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 23-05-2020, 12:32 PM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,303
This is original situation with compound lead screw.. no bearings, by design.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (DSC_0316.jpg)
199.3 KB66 views
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 23-05-2020, 01:13 PM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 19,855
Quote:
Originally Posted by bojan View Post
Well, not missing really... only crashed, I found half of it.
what was it made out of? Takes serious pressure to crash a bearing ball. Usually the track or cage are the first to go. You might want to go around the whole lathe and replace them with equivalent timken or other.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 23-05-2020, 02:44 PM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,303
Quote:
Originally Posted by multiweb View Post
... You might want to go around the whole lathe and replace them ...
That's what I am doing...


I think this bearing was installed like this in first place... because the feed spindle was turning OK when I first inspect the machine. I realized it was faulty only when I went to investigate the reason why the nut self-unscrewed and fell on the floor.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 24-05-2020, 01:10 PM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,303
New compound bearing plate (aluminium flat bar, 60x12mm)...
I will cut off the excess later (with circular saw).. the current size is larger to fit the part into 3-jaw head, properly centered for bearing seat.

The seats will wait for thrust bearings to arrive (in couple of days).
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (Plate.jpg)
46.2 KB39 views
Click for full-size image (DSC_0319.jpg)
198.9 KB44 views
Click for full-size image (DSC_0321.jpg)
198.7 KB55 views

Last edited by bojan; 24-05-2020 at 01:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 26-05-2020, 09:28 AM
alval (Alan)
Registered User

alval is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Northern Adelaide
Posts: 58
[QUOTE=bojan;1474873]Saga continues...

Electronics is still not sorted out 100%, I discovered the minimum head speed is ~ 180rpm, too fast for threads..


It sounds like youre getting there, and by what you are doing will be way better than stock lathe. Imagine the person that cant problem solve and fix things would be getting sick of sending things back

My lathe has geared speeds and 160 is the slowest, no brake, so it just winds down when turned off. I thread away from the chuck. Same set up except tool is upside down and you run the lathe in reverse. Start from the run out for the thread. Make a carriage stop so you start in the same place each time. This way you can thread right up to big shoulders, or in bores you you can thread a blind hole up to the end. Much simpler and you dont have to worry about quick winding out or crashing the tool. (On bores thread off back face with an opposite hand bar and thread is always visable). Speed is then not an issue and most things cut better with a bit of speed.
Al
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 07:52 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Limpet Controller
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement