Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 25-07-2020, 09:45 AM
Jared_t
Registered User

Jared_t is offline
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 10
'Caution... Both axes - No response'

Does anyone have any experience with this error?
I'm using a second hand Skywatcher 12" GOTO AZ mount.

I've tried:


- Changing handsets (V3 + V5)

- Changing power supply (12V battery + power pack)


All cables are firmly connected so I expect it's probably a motor issue but I wanted to see if anyone has any other ideas before I pull it apart.


Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25-07-2020, 11:08 AM
brisen (Brian)
Registered User

brisen is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Caboolture, Australia
Posts: 254
Hi Jared

That is an error message indicating that the motor board is dead. In these cases it needs a new board - they have 5 year warranty so if yours is under 5 years old they will replace the board under warranty.

Brian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25-07-2020, 12:23 PM
Jared_t
Registered User

Jared_t is offline
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 10
Thanks mate.
I was afraid of that



Quote:
Originally Posted by brisen View Post
Hi Jared

That is an error message indicating that the motor board is dead. In these cases it needs a new board - they have 5 year warranty so if yours is under 5 years old they will replace the board under warranty.

Brian
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25-07-2020, 01:15 PM
raymo
Registered User

raymo is online now
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: margaret river, western australia
Posts: 5,177
If you end up pulling the motherboard out, have a look at all the condensers;
I have encountered several SW motherboards with one or more blown condensers. If you find any dodgy ones, new ones can be obtained for about a dollar at Jaycar. I hope this helps.
raymo
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25-07-2020, 06:14 PM
Jared_t
Registered User

Jared_t is offline
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 10
Thanks for the tip!


Quote:
Originally Posted by raymo View Post
If you end up pulling the motherboard out, have a look at all the condensers;
I have encountered several SW motherboards with one or more blown condensers. If you find any dodgy ones, new ones can be obtained for about a dollar at Jaycar. I hope this helps.
raymo
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26-07-2020, 08:39 AM
gaseous (Patrick)
Registered User

gaseous is offline
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 578
I used to get that message occasionally on my 16" goto. It always righted itself after turning the power on and off a couple of times, and possibly pressing the "enter" butting on the handset whilst doing this. If that doesn't work, then yeah, it's probably cactus.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26-07-2020, 08:45 AM
gaseous (Patrick)
Registered User

gaseous is offline
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 578
Quote:
Originally Posted by brisen View Post
Hi Jared

That is an error message indicating that the motor board is dead. In these cases it needs a new board - they have 5 year warranty so if yours is under 5 years old they will replace the board under warranty.

Brian

Not sure a second-hand scope will remain under warranty - this is a common misconception, and I'm unsure if anyone has ever challenged Skywatcher on it:



"Your Sky-Watcher product must have been purchased in Australia or New Zealand to be valid for our 5 year warranty. Sky-Watcher Products purchased elsewhere, will NOT qualify for manufacturers warranty in Australia. Sky-Watcher products purchased outside of Australia must be returned to the place of purchase to resolve any issues.
Warranties are not transferable"
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26-07-2020, 09:02 AM
brisen (Brian)
Registered User

brisen is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Caboolture, Australia
Posts: 254
According to the ACCC Guidelines for Consumers the consumer guarantees apply even to second hand items with the provision that there is an expectation that second hand may not last as long as a new purchase. Whilst Skywatcher may imply that the warranty is not transferrable, the consumer laws should essentially override their attempt at contracting out of liability.

Cut and paste from the source above

Second-hand goods
The consumer guarantees apply whether the goods are new, ‘seconds’ or second-hand. Depending on factors like price and age, it may not be reasonable to expect a second-hand product to last as long or perform to the same standard as a new one.
For example, a second-hand vacuum cleaner is not expected to last as long as a new one.

Brian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26-07-2020, 09:56 AM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is online now
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,200
I wouldn't bother pursuing warranty.. too much hassle.

Just open the enclosure and have a look inside.

I am sure anybody with electronics repair skills can sort it out.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26-07-2020, 02:17 PM
Sunfish's Avatar
Sunfish (Ray)
Registered User

Sunfish is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Wollongong
Posts: 974
I had the same message in a heq5. Before you go to any lengths , clean the connection for the handset on the mount with small stiff paintbrush that fits in the plug port and blow out all the debri. Often does the trick .


If that does not work as happened the second time for me, you can remove the small board and clean behind as well as cleaning the mount plug handset port with alchohol. I found a few small spiders and I have had ants previously.

I did that and now my mount works fine.

Last edited by Sunfish; 27-07-2020 at 09:04 AM. Reason: Spelling
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 27-07-2020, 06:53 AM
PKay's Avatar
PKay (Peter)
Registered User

PKay is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: DEPOT BEACH
Posts: 660
I had this same message the other night with a Synscan, so probably not related.
But I'll tell you anyway :-)

If I try to initialise the mount with an active connection to a PC, I can get that message.

Do you connect to a PC as well?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 27-07-2020, 09:29 AM
Jared_t
Registered User

Jared_t is offline
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 10
PC or not, the message appears.
It's out of warranty anyway so I'm taking it apart.

I would hardly call myself an electrician but at least I won't break it anymore
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 27-07-2020, 10:34 AM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is online now
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,200
Post some images...
It would be good to identify pars like stepper drivers, power supply regulators etc.
Then you can download relevant data sheets and start from there with some basic voltage measurements.. which may tell you what is wrong in case general cleaning as suggested here earlier didn't help.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 28-07-2020, 10:13 PM
Sunfish's Avatar
Sunfish (Ray)
Registered User

Sunfish is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Wollongong
Posts: 974
Did you try cleaning the handset plug port with emery or alchohol before dismantling. Probably all it is.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jared_t View Post
PC or not, the message appears.
It's out of warranty anyway so I'm taking it apart.

I would hardly call myself an electrician but at least I won't break it anymore
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 11:24 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Astromechanics
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement