Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > DIY Observatories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 4.00 average.
  #1  
Old 08-01-2015, 09:08 PM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 30,286
the doghouse Mark2 - a new beginning

ok second time around - what would i do different? ahh i know none of this

is there a benefit to have the platform for the dome higher?

would i be better routing data separate to the power?

do i just set it all up on a full concrete slab?

the location is in the top corner near the second panel
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (20140806_072654_resizeds3picsaa.JPG)
103.8 KB321 views
Click for full-size image (20140729_083308.jpg)
174.2 KB224 views
Click for full-size image (20140729_083315.jpg)
175.4 KB229 views
Click for full-size image (20140729_083317.jpg)
206.1 KB201 views
Click for full-size image (20140729_083320.jpg)
204.8 KB204 views
Click for full-size image (20140729_083514.jpg)
197.9 KB185 views

Last edited by h0ughy; 09-01-2015 at 05:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-01-2015, 10:00 PM
Occulta's Avatar
Occulta (Chris)
Registered User

Occulta is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 146
What would I do different?

Make sure this never has the chance of happening!
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (H0ughy_Buns.jpg)
197.2 KB314 views
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-01-2015, 10:21 PM
glend (Glen)
Registered User

glend is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lake Macquarie, NSW
Posts: 5,024
Nice location David. Is that paddock out the back protected reserve or electricity easement? Hopefully nothing will ever get built there. What part of Newcastle?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-01-2015, 10:21 PM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 30,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by Occulta View Post
Make sure this never has the chance of happening!
that is a cruel joke and should be reported

no chance of that close, other land is council public reserve, then wetlands and natural creek, then airport. industrial estate is full so cant be expanded
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-01-2015, 10:40 PM
strongmanmike's Avatar
strongmanmike (Michael)
Woohoo it's clear

strongmanmike is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canberra
Posts: 14,256
Looks like a perfect blank canvas you have there Dave...choices, choices..? Get out the pen and paper again

Chris's post is cruel I agree, reported

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-01-2015, 11:40 PM
RB's Avatar
RB (Andrew)
Moderator

RB is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 21,435
Quote:
Originally Posted by h0ughy View Post
that is a cruel joke and should be reported
Quote:
Originally Posted by strongmanmike View Post
Chris's post is cruel I agree, reported

Mike
Denied !
It's too funny..... besides, I would've put a Masters there instead.

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-01-2015, 01:31 AM
GTB_an_Owl's Avatar
GTB_an_Owl (Geoff)
bewise betold neverbecold

GTB_an_Owl is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Terrigal NSW
Posts: 3,583
you trading sky for shade Dave?

geoff
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-01-2015, 05:29 AM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 30,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTB_an_Owl View Post
you trading sky for shade Dave?

geoff
no - due east is about the corner and south runs about a few panels along back fence, its higher ground there and when i get my new shed it will block all streetlights and vehicular lighting
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-01-2015, 05:30 AM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 30,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by RB View Post
Denied !
It's too funny..... besides, I would've put a Masters there instead.

not funny
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-01-2015, 06:39 AM
Rodstar's Avatar
Rodstar (Rod)
The Glenfallus

Rodstar is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Central Coast, NSW
Posts: 2,697
Good to see you are moving on to something that will be even better HOughy! Looking forward,to seeing some nice images in the coming months.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-01-2015, 07:02 AM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 30,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodstar View Post
Good to see you are moving on to something that will be even better HOughy! Looking forward,to seeing some nice images in the coming months.
Rod, my gear is spread over two properties, I cant setup and pack down due to all the crud I own and want to use and I am now getting desperate to do something, this ruddy comet is frustrating me I want to image it but don't have the resources and time at the moment. I miss my solar, I have a brand new Moravian camera with a complete set of filters never used and have had this for some time, the pain, the pain .... I am lost in space.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-01-2015, 08:19 AM
RB's Avatar
RB (Andrew)
Moderator

RB is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 21,435
Oh yes, "the pain, the pain".
Davo can't wait to see the new doghouse up and running mate.
Hurry up will you !
And let me know, I'll come up and give you a hand.
I can even help set up your levels with a laser or two.

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-01-2015, 09:39 AM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 17,536
Woohoo! Not long now.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-01-2015, 10:03 AM
RB's Avatar
RB (Andrew)
Moderator

RB is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 21,435
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinetic View Post
LOL Chris, you know, living that close to Bunnions would have it's advantages....Steve
LOL yeah Steve, like running all your obs power needs off a single solar panel at night.

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-01-2015, 12:09 PM
strongmanmike's Avatar
strongmanmike (Michael)
Woohoo it's clear

strongmanmike is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canberra
Posts: 14,256
Quote:
Originally Posted by h0ughy View Post
I have a brand new Moravian camera with a complete set of filters never used and have had this for some time,
Several astro items over the years have been in this boat haven't they Dave? Like children you never knew

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-01-2015, 12:56 PM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 30,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by strongmanmike View Post
Several astro items over the years have been in this boat haven't they Dave? Like children you never knew

Mike
oh dear - what an orphanage I have
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-01-2015, 01:53 PM
The_bluester's Avatar
The_bluester (Paul)
Registered User

The_bluester is online now
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Kilmore, Australia
Posts: 1,648
A suggestion rather than conduits everywhere.

Conduits to plenty of places, but take them in to pits cast in to the floor. That way if you have (For instance and based on the design I am still brewing up) two desk locations in a warm room and a couple of piers, you can run comms conduits from where each work area will be in the warm room to a comms pit in the "Cold" area with the scope/s and then conduits from that pit to anywhere you reckon you might need one. Separate conduits and pits for power distribution, either DC or 240V.

If you run a conduit from everywhere you can think of for data or power, back to centralized pits rather than conduits from location to location you don't have to think of every possible cross connect up front, you just go from A to intermediate pit to B when you work out that the new gizmo in location A needs a connection to the thingy in location B, and then the whatsit in B needs a connection to that thing in location C so you go from B to pit to C.

You just need to make sure your conduit size is ample. The comms construction body in me would be tempted to put in P100 conduits anywhere multiple cables are likely, but a couple of P32 conduits is probably fairly safe, and easier to work with.

If you put in conduits make sure that you use sweeping, long radius bends. Nothing worse than putting in pit and pipe and then not being able to haul cable because the bends are too tight.

And lastly, make records and tag cables in the conduits. Nothing worse than not being able to remember where a pipe goes or what a particular cable in a pit is for.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-01-2015, 02:14 PM
The_bluester's Avatar
The_bluester (Paul)
Registered User

The_bluester is online now
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Kilmore, Australia
Posts: 1,648
P50 could be a good compromise in a couple of places, in case of large connectors.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 14-01-2015, 07:48 AM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 30,286
looking into digging some holes - one thing I have noticed is that the soil structure is highly reactive - more so than the old observatory. I was thinking of raft footings for the deck (3x3m) with the footings for the pier to be the same as I did for the original doghouse. my question is the depth of footing? do I do 600mm footing for the deck?

as for the pier - I will dig out a hole so that it fits me in quite comfortably, so that should be large enough I will utilise the compost bin structure as it is coned in the first instance, though looking at what Strongman did for his, that looks a good way of doing it too

also managed to find some soil testing results near my property
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (test1.jpg)
193.8 KB73 views
Click for full-size image (test2.jpg)
198.5 KB55 views
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 14-01-2015, 09:08 AM
glend (Glen)
Registered User

glend is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lake Macquarie, NSW
Posts: 5,024
My soil is similiar but I get down to mostly clay at 600mm. I put my deck footings down to 600mm. I used underground spec treated posts 100x100 and i dipped them in tnat Eco bitumin paint that Bunnings sells. Posts are set in real concrete not quickset.
I think you'll be right at that depth for the deck, but then I'm just a novice on this subject.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 04:37 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
Interest Free Finance
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement