#1  
Old 21-02-2019, 02:18 AM
p1taylor's Avatar
p1taylor
Registered User

p1taylor is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: coventry uk
Posts: 725
New set up

Hi All, My Meade 400 RCX 10" has given up after 12 years so I am going to put the optical tube on a Skywatcher EQ8 mount and run it from observatory computer which has Windows 8 on, from what I have found out so fare if I have a EQ Direct in cable from PC to scope do not need hand controller and put GPS unit in to PC what sort of GPS will I need, will run on Skymap Pro 10.0.5 and EQASCOM 200q will be gratefully for any help thanks. if you need any moor info just ask.

peter
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23-02-2019, 09:21 PM
Wavytone (Nick)
BigBanger

Wavytone is online now
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Killara, Sydney
Posts: 3,581
if its in an observatory at a fixed location why do you think you need GPS, since your location doesn't change ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23-02-2019, 09:34 PM
p1taylor's Avatar
p1taylor
Registered User

p1taylor is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: coventry uk
Posts: 725
But time and date does change and time needs to be right for goto.


peter
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23-02-2019, 11:45 PM
Ukastronomer's Avatar
Ukastronomer (Jeremy)
Registered User

Ukastronomer is online now
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Llandysul, WALES, UK
Posts: 421
Quote:
Originally Posted by p1taylor View Post
But time and date does change and time needs to be right for goto.


peter
surely that just takes seconds to enter ?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24-02-2019, 10:00 AM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 678
I use EQMOD direct with StellariumScope and Stellarium. EQ direct shoestringcable from mount to laptop
Extremely accurate goto and tracking
Uses a 3 point plus nearest alignment model
My laptop is 3m from my mount, you could also remote connect with wifi
Works with all Synta EQ mounts including EQ8
Set your location in EQMOD and Stellarium and time and date in Stellarium once and thatís it
Very reliable
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28-02-2019, 04:05 AM
p1taylor's Avatar
p1taylor
Registered User

p1taylor is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: coventry uk
Posts: 725
All is OK with the Meade rcx400 every thing is as it was before it went funny, it was my sons idea to put every thing in again this showed the laptop has not running sum thing not right so put a new one on and was it.

peter
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 11:30 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
Interest Free Finance
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement