Old 26-04-2009, 12:47 AM
Davekyn (David)
Loves Staring Into Space!

12" Dob Out Of Town - Carina/Centaurus & Leo

NGC3372 / NGC4945 / NGC4835 /NGC 5128 & M65 & M66
Date 25/4/09
Time 8-11pm
Seeing – Clear/moderate to cool & dry
Light pollution – Very Low, minor sky glow, reasonable dark site.
Location – 12km SW of Toowoomba (Federation Park)
Telescope 12” Dob – 1.25” Bintel UHC filter

I’m new at this...my apologies if you can’t follow it.

Not a bad nights viewing. Took the young fella (12) who seems to like making the cupas and using the 10X50s, if not just hanging out and drawing a few pics himself hoping the next time we’ll camp.

Took the 12” Dob out after having practiced with the ED80 & studying some pics of the Carina Neb...The effort paid off as this time round, I had a much better idea as to what area of the Nebula I was looking at. First off I used my 2” GSO 42 Super View which equates to aprox 35X/1.9 degrees. Not having a 2” filter I basically used this EP to get my bearings as I peeked from the scope to my iphones PDF reader to which I earlier prepared some digitized maps & photos. I was much better prepared this time round and boy oh boy how the clouds just billowed out as I put in my 1.25” 25mm plossel – 60X/.9 of a degree...& my Bintel UHC filter. Truly if I was impressed with how the filter worked in my little ED scope...I was truly blown away with the results my 12” Dob was doing with this filter...

Use this Detailed Map as I refer to the areas I viewed:
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedi.../NGC_3372d.jpg