Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Astrophotography

Old 04-09-2017, 05:06 PM
The_bluester (Paul)

First crack at a timelapse

I thought I would stick this in this section as I really regard myself as a complete beginner to AP.

I decided on the weekend to have a go at making a timelapse (Even with the moon up) so naturally the weather made things difficult.

Taken with a modified 350D using Backyard EOS with 15 second frames shot every 30 seconds, no darks and about 1200 frames all up for 12 hours. Turned into a timelapse using software called "Time-Lapse Tool" resolution limited by being the free version. Not sure if I will pay for it yet as it is relatively expensive for the top version which would output the file in up to 4K resolution.

The modded cam gives it a red cast which is a a bit of a pain to process out for the lapse, but anyway, it was time to have a go.

https://youtu.be/aT3yB1T1dzs
Old 04-09-2017, 05:44 PM
rustigsmed (Russell)

nice effort Paul!
i can't remember what i used to do to put my timelapses together, something free on windows, there must be others out there.

cheers
Old 04-09-2017, 06:37 PM
The_bluester (Paul)

I was hoping to use windows Movie Maker but Microsoft have killed it off. You cant even download it any more. I did quite a bit of googling to land on the one I used. Most of the howtos I found were basically advertorials for one companies software or another.

I learned a bit doing this one, mostly that it will be easier to produce JPG images off the camera as most of the software will require it anyway to create a lapse (Meaning I had to find a Canon RAW to JPG converter) and the file naming setup needs to be carefully considered in Backyard EOS to produce a file structure that will make it easy to import 1200 files in the right order!