Old 31-05-2018, 09:49 AM
brent130

Included eye piece question

Hi all,

I'll start by saying I am totally new to the world of telescopes. I was given a skywatcher 130/1000 as a birthday present which I've only used 2 times due to Melbourne weather

It came with a 10mm and a 20mm eye piece although it is meant to be a 25mm instead of 20mm.

Is it worthwhile to swap the 20mm for the 25mm at the shop? So far I've only looked at the moon and still have lots to learn about using the telescope.

The only problem I see is if I were to get a 2x barlow, then I wouldn't gain anything from the 20mm.

What are people thoughts?
Old 31-05-2018, 06:59 PM
gaseous (Patrick)

I'd definitely be swapping for the 25mm, for the barlow issue you mention.
Old 31-05-2018, 07:13 PM
bojan
amateur

Or 40mm.. plus 2x barlow.
Old 31-05-2018, 09:02 PM
Wavytone

Hi Brent,

Think of the max possible range of eyepieces that suit this scope, and divide that into 4 or 5 roughly equal magnification steps and lets see from that what makes sense.

At the short end 7 or 8 mm. At the long end a budget 25mm eyepiece should give the maximum field of view in the 1.25” barrel.

Using 10 and 20: a set could be 7, 10, 14, 20 or the 25.

Personally I’d say skip the Barlow and buy 7 and 14. Not a lot of difference between 20 or 25, keep what you have.

Or the Barlow and a 14mm or thereabouts.

There are also 1.4X and 2.5X Barlow’s, which open up more possibilities
Old 01-06-2018, 04:38 AM
astro744

What 20mm is it? If a widefield then your true field will be similar to the 25. I'd say keep the 20 and get a 32mm Plossl for maximum true field in 1.25" and nice bright images. There is a good 25mm Plossl for sale in the used section if you really want that focal length.

Note maximum true field is determined by the eyepiece field stop diameter. Max for 1.25" is 27mm and this is available in 40mm Plossl, 32mm Plossl and 24mm Widefield with 44 deg, 50 deg, 65 deg apparent field respectfully.
Old 01-06-2018, 12:04 PM