Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Equipment Discussions

Old 19-08-2018, 10:25 AM
morls (Stephen)
Space is the place...

EQ mount maintenance

Hi,

I'm really enjoying my first EQ mount, a Vixen Super Polaris purchased through the classifieds here (thanks Phil!). It tracks really well for visual observation, and is coping remarkably well with the 10kg or so I'm asking it to carry.

I was wondering about maintenance practices with these mounts. There is no way I want to pull it apart myself unless absolutely necessary, and it's working so well that I'm not even considering that. There is, however, a bit of free play in both RA and DEC, and I wonder if there's a way to address this without resorting to open surgery? It's certainly not a major issue, but I have very little experience with EQ mounts and so am curious as to how others have dealt with this type of issue?

Cheers

Stephen
Old 19-08-2018, 10:41 AM
morls (Stephen)
Space is the place...

As an addendum to this post, I've found this guide:

http://web.archive.org/web/200502121...om:80/SPb2.htm

Before I jump in, are there any potential pitfalls to be aware of?
Old 19-08-2018, 11:15 AM
morls (Stephen)
Space is the place...

I've also found there's a screw missing, so first job is to get the specs and then pop down to the local bolt shop...
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (IMG_0115.JPG)
110.3 KB50 views
Old 20-08-2018, 11:30 AM
morls (Stephen)
Space is the place...

The missing screw is an M5, and was easily found at bunnings. I'm impressed that a mount of this vintage is metric.

I've done some adjustments as per the guide linked to above, which very clearly explains, with photos, what to do. I think the finer tuning will be something I learn as I go, each mount having its own idiosyncrasies.