ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Crescent
27.7%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
11:52 am
Perth
8:52 am
Auckland*
1:52 pm
New York
7:52 pm
Paris
1:52 am
GMT
12:52 am




Go Back   IceInSpace > Images > Deep Space

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 20-09-2018, 06:09 PM
that_guy's Avatar
that_guy (Tony)
Local Korean Millennial

that_guy is online now
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 1,840
First light with Esprit 100ED

Shot Helix in Ha for a couple of nights for a total of 7 hours at 10 minute subs with the new Esprit 100ED and oh boy is this thing a HUGE improvement over my old north group refractor. For one thing, the focuser isn't something you'd get out of a happy meals and actually holds the weight of my camera.

Now to the not so good part. I've been having issues with the camera. I'm getting light leak from my filterwheel when I'm shooting flats (empty filter slot next to the narrowband filter) which means that I can't get a decent flat calibration or darks without removing it from the scope and covering the whole camera which doesn't make sense for flats . Also, if you look at the full res image, theres this weird horizontal noise line that's present. Has anyone come across something like this? If so, what's the solution?

Full Res Astrobin Link

Thanks
Tony
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (Autosave018.jpg)
198.8 KB84 views
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21-09-2018, 08:24 AM
Ross G
Registered User

Ross G is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cherrybrook, NSW
Posts: 4,966
Hi Tony,


Great looking shot.


Sharp and detailed...the new scope is good!


Good luck.
Ross.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21-09-2018, 12:40 PM
cometcatcher's Avatar
cometcatcher (Kevin)
<--- Comet Hale-Bopp

cometcatcher is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cloudy Mackay
Posts: 6,003
Nice pic from your new scope!

I've heard of light leaks from some filter wheels. What type brand is it?

What's the bandwidth of your Ha filter if I may ask?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21-09-2018, 12:47 PM
that_guy's Avatar
that_guy (Tony)
Local Korean Millennial

that_guy is online now
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 1,840
Quote:
Originally Posted by cometcatcher View Post
Nice pic from your new scope!

I've heard of light leaks from some filter wheels. What type brand is it?

What's the bandwidth of your Ha filter if I may ask?
The filterwheel is a zwo miniefw and the filters I use are the standard 6nm astronomik narrowband filters. I think it's because I'm using a QHY camera with a ZWO filterwheel that theres some gap somewhere because I have a friend who has the same filterwheel and filterset but has no issues with his asi1600mmc.

Thanks
Tony
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22-09-2018, 05:00 AM
Benjamin's Avatar
Benjamin (Ben)
Registered User

Benjamin is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Moorooka, Brisbane
Posts: 363
Not sure about the flats but I had lines for a while which seemed to disappear once I turned off WiFi and Bluetooth on the laptop. Looking great nonetheless!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22-09-2018, 06:28 AM
that_guy's Avatar
that_guy (Tony)
Local Korean Millennial

that_guy is online now
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 1,840
Quote:
Originally Posted by Benjamin View Post
Not sure about the flats but I had lines for a while which seemed to disappear once I turned off WiFi and Bluetooth on the laptop. Looking great nonetheless!
Kinda need bluetooth on for EQMOD to work aha and need wifi for team viewer
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22-09-2018, 07:00 AM
RickS's Avatar
RickS (Rick)
PI cult recruiter

RickS is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 10,445
Looks good, Tony! I'd start by checking if the lines are present in calibration files as well as lights and whether they are consistently in the same place.

Cheers,
Rick.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22-09-2018, 08:32 AM
Benjamin's Avatar
Benjamin (Ben)
Registered User

Benjamin is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Moorooka, Brisbane
Posts: 363
Quote:
Originally Posted by that_guy View Post
Kinda need bluetooth on for EQMOD to work aha and need wifi for team viewer
Ah! :-) Certainly a more elegant solution to my setup with 10m cables running from my kitchen window to the mount and then cables running all over the mount itself. Still, at least I have no laptop sitting in my rather unprotected backyard. The previous times I had lines (with a DSLR) it came down to power sources and electrical interferance. Found ways of mitigating them when processing the data in Fitsworks. The lines I had recently (due to WiFi/Bluetooth issues) cropped up every 4th frame or so.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 22-09-2018, 08:46 AM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 17,110
Very nice field and good details. Looks like you'll have a lot of fun with that scope.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 10:52 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Atik Horizon
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Interest Free Finance
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement