Old 08-05-2017, 11:48 AM
Maru (Alessandro)

First Step in Planetary Imaging

Hi everybody,

I've been doing visual astronomy for a bit more than 2 years now and I would like to take my first step into astro-photography. I have a 12" collapsible Dobson and I wanted to start with planetary imaging. What woulod it be the best camera to start? Sorry if this question has already been posted and thanks for your help!!

Cheers
Alessandro
Old 08-05-2017, 02:42 PM
sil (Steve)
Not even a speck of dust

Not sure about Dobs, but you can start with what you have and shoot through the eyepiece.Or a smartphone mount that holds onto your eyepiece making mobile photography much easier. Then there are the T converters etc that let you attach your camera to the focuser just like an eyepiece. But you may get flexing from the weight that throws off the image and you may find your focuser doesnt have enough travel "inwards" I think to achieve focus with your camera. If outwards travel is limiting focus you can get extension rings. These are all for taking a nice single "photo" when you click.

Beyond this you are looking at recording video, striping out the still frames and aligning and stacking and processing these into a single final photo. I'd suggest a zwo asi camera, maybe the 120mm (mono, uncooled). If its not a goto dob you can say line up with the planet at the edge of screen, start recording video and letting the planet drift across the frame. If you can track then you should be fine for a couple of minutes capture. but not much more, remember the planets or not only moving but spinning too so you only can really use data from a couple of minutes window to keep surface detail.