ANZAC Day
Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Astrophotography
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 19-01-2020, 11:14 PM
Jasp05 (Aaron)

Eta Carinae - RGB with L-enhance

Hi guys,

Been a while since I last posted any of my images. I have been struggling with processing images taken through the Optolong L-enhance filter and the resulting colour balance.

But this is my first try at adding "Narrowband" data as a luminance layer to an RGB image.

I converted the Narrowband image to black and white and just used it as a luminance layer.

I did try copying the data from each individual channel but was not happy with the result.

This comprises the following subs:

35x 2min - 800 ISO RGB Data
19x 5min - 800 ISO with L-enhance Filter.

Total exposure time = 2hr 45min.

So the luminance layer is not 100% perfectly aligned and this is also the cause of the weird framing of the shot. Will rectify that with my next set of data. But I do welcome any comments or criticism. I feel like I have finally made progress with the filter and my processing is definitely improving.

I have attached my old image of this object for comparison.
It should be right around 12 months difference between shots.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (Eta Carinae - RGB data with 1hr35min narrowband as luminance@0,25x.jpg)
203.7 KB93 views
Click for full-size image (Eta Carinae - 33min @ 60sec After Mod.jpg)
200.7 KB72 views
Old 20-01-2020, 01:35 PM
casstony

Looks very nice Aaron. I use the L-Enhance too and don't worry too much about the colour balance.
Old 20-01-2020, 09:07 PM
Jasp05 (Aaron)

Quote:
Originally Posted by casstony View Post
Looks very nice Aaron. I use the L-Enhance too and don't worry too much about the colour balance.
Everything seems to just be very red in my images with the filter. There is not alot of blue/ green coming through that OIII bandpass.