Old 05-05-2010, 07:23 PM
telecasterguru (Frank)
Have scope will travel!

Advantages of RGB binned 2x2

I see that a lot of imagers are binning L at 1x1 and RGB at 2x2.

What are the advantages of binning RGB at 2x2 as compared to binning Luminance at 1x1 and are the advantages the same for all DSOs?

Thanks

Frank
Old 05-05-2010, 07:30 PM
Bolts_Tweed (Mark)

Gday Frank

I have just starting doing this so i am not experienced but as I understand it is just time. 2x2 binning is more sensitive than 1x1 and thus you can image fainter objects in the same time.

Software like DL allows compositing an LRGB image imaged 1x1 Lum and 2x2 RGB. As the RGB just forms a tone map, resolution isnt the hiogest priority. In fact I run a median filter over my RGB channels then obtain all the sharp detail in the 1x1 binned Lum or Ha (or combination of both) that I am using as a Lum.

Others may be more eloquent but this was what I gathered by research prior to using it. I hope to show the results after the weekend on an LRGB on that NGC3576 I am hoping to take (weekend looks good up here - yahoo)

Mark Bolton
Old 05-05-2010, 08:08 PM
sheeny (Al)
Spam Hunter

I think Mark has pretty much got it.

2x2 binning increases sensitivity at the expense of resolution, but since the detail is in the luminance image (1x1) it makes sense to bin 2x2 for the colour data to get richer, smoother (less noisy) colour data.

Al.
Old 05-05-2010, 09:13 PM
Tandum (Robin)

Be careful binning x 2 on bright objects. Remember binning x2 adds the contents of a group of 4 pixels into one read out pixel/buffer so these 8300 cameras, with relatively small well depths will overflow as the buffer they combine/read them into has the same well depth as an imaging pixel.
Old 06-05-2010, 01:10 PM
OzRob (Rob)

If my understanding is cottect our eyes are not good at seeing details in colour so the loss of resolution in the colour data is of little consequence. Details come from the luminance frame.

Quote: