Old 17-03-2016, 10:47 AM
Chris.B (Christopher)

Lens or scope???

I am still getting into the astro photography side of things so this may be a silly question.

With shorter focal lengths eg 300-400mm, which has better optics a camera lens or an ED or triplet refractor(or better) and why would you chose one over the other?

I have a 100-400L Canon lens and it is razor sharp for sports.
I can mount that on top the ED100 with uide scope on the HEQ5. Or set up a side by side plate. I was looking at an ED80 but do I need it?

I know good L primes cost as much or more than scopes. Do they produce better shots or not? Vignetting is not as big an issue with camera lenses or is it? They have up to 12 elements to play with and refractors 3 to 6.

Hope you can help clarify it all for me.
Old 17-03-2016, 11:13 AM
bojan
amateur

100-400mm L is quite good.. so you have everything you need for start with AP.
ED100 is also very much OK, especially with field flattener.

Vignetting is sorted out with flats.. so it's not an issue.
Once you gain some experience and "feel" with what you 've got already, you will know how to proceed.
Old 17-03-2016, 02:56 PM
Geoff45 (Geoff)
PI rules

I guess a camera lens should have better optics. Why else would camera manufacturers use multiple lens elements if they could produce better quality with a cheaper 2 or 3 lens system?
Old 17-03-2016, 03:00 PM
Chris.B (Christopher)

I did think the same thing Geoff, but thought I would ask.
In that case I stick with the 100-400mm
Old 17-03-2016, 03:12 PM
Camelopardalis (Dunk)
Drifting from the pole

I don't agree...

A good apo would have a flatter field and negligible coma. The same can't be said for most camera lenses, regardless of cost. Astrophotographers are IMO more demanding when it comes to image perfection than daytime photographers.
Old 17-03-2016, 06:43 PM
Andy01 (Andy)
My God it's full of stars

So why did I recently purchase a 336mm f4.5 refractor over a 300mm f4.0 camera lens?