ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Crescent
21.9%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
1:43 am
Perth
10:43 pm
Auckland*
3:43 am
New York
9:43 am
Paris
3:43 pm
GMT
2:43 pm




  #1  
Old 13-11-2017, 07:18 PM
luka
Unregistered User

luka is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 810
RC8 and Meade F6.3 reducer

Hi,

Just wondering if anyone is using Meade Series 4000 F6.3 reducer/field flattener with a GSO RC8? How well does the combination work? Or am I better off paying for the Astro Physics CCDT67?

Thanks
Luka
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14-11-2017, 05:17 AM
tim.stephens (Tim)
Registered User

tim.stephens is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 50
This might be a good start:

http://karmalimbo.com/aro/reports/Te...20Reducers.pdf

And, can you easily test the system?

And, the GSO focal reducer is very good for the price. It's also apparently a field flattener.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14-11-2017, 06:59 AM
glend (Glen)
Registered User

glend is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lake Macquarie
Posts: 4,119
Having owned an RC08 for 18 months (before selling it), and experienced the frustrations that brings, i can not see the point of putting a reducer on it. If you don't want the 1600mm focal length and prefer 1200 at a faster speed, why not just run a 10" f5 newt. It costs the same, give better resolution, and will be far easier to live with than the RC.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14-11-2017, 07:21 AM
kens (Ken)
Registered User

kens is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 158
I use the TS Optics CCD47
https://www.teleskop-express.de/shop...es-ab-F-8.html
As far as I can tell its identical to the AP CCDT67 but costs less
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14-11-2017, 10:21 PM
luka
Unregistered User

luka is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 810
Thank you for the info.

Google was not helpful about the combination of Meade F6.3 reducer and RC8. I found only one comment that "it works".

I have decided to get the proven CCDT67 (or the cheaper clone) after reading that it will also work well with my f=600mm ED80. I wanted a larger field for some objects and was contemplating a reducer for a while. Two for the price of one

Glen, the reducer on the RC8 will give an OPTIONAL second (faster) focal length that is roughly half-way between my ED80 and RC8. It is also easier to step up the guiding from 600mm to 1200mm than jumping straight to 1600mm.
And arguably 10" f5 Newtonian is pushing the limits of EQ6, even the CF version.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
rc8, reducer

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 12:43 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement