Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Equipment Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average.
  #21  
Old 29-04-2020, 12:24 PM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,578
Dave,
Trying to polar align using a polar scope is pain in the butt and I found I get much better results from using the Synscan polar alignment routine
1/ Using the polar scope your either bent over or on your knees squinting into the scope trying to align this tiny asterism and keep your head still ( a neck breaker )
2/ The south celestial pole for most people is between 30 degrees and 40 degrees ( quite low in the night sky ) so accuracy is dependent on atmospheric seeing conditions and the quality of your eye sight
3/ I have no line of sight to the SCP at one of my locations , the other location I have line of sight but still choose the Synscan PA routine. The more you do it the better you get at it ( like everything in this hobby )
3/ With Synscan you choose you polar star and alignment stars ( usually higher in Altitude ) and at a comfortable viewing position either with a refractor or newt reflector
4/ You could spend money and buy a Pole Master to replace your polar scope connected to a laptop but why not use the free program in your Synscan hand controller using a centering eye piece which provides enough accuracy
5/ I progressed 3 years ago from using a centering eye piece ( which was great for a year ) to using my imaging DSLR on the telescope connected to my imaging program BYEOS and sitting at my outdoor workstation. I can polar align using Synscan and BYEOS to under an arc minute within 10 minutes

The Synscan routine has not let me down in nearly 4 years of Astronomy. In some cases the accuracy has been so tight I can take a 90 sec exposure with pin point stars and I image at 1000mm focal length with 200mm of aperture (definitely not widefield !! )

Of course I use PHD2 guiding when doing long exposure Astrophotography

Hope the above answers your question

Cheers
Martin
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 29-04-2020, 02:18 PM
Dave88 (Dave)
Registered User

Dave88 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bundaberg
Posts: 10
Thanks Martin,

That certainly does answer my question and I'm pleased to hear that I don't need to learn how to use the polar scope at this point in time. I found it a bit daunting for a newbie.

I've had ok success with the Synscan PA routine (for visual) so far averaging about a degree of error. I'm going to invest in a reticle eyepiece this week and hope to further improve on that.

Cheers,
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 29-04-2020, 02:26 PM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,578
Dave
I recommend the Orion 20mm 70 degree illuminated reticle eye piece for many reasons
1/ It has excellent eye relief ( 15mm )
2/ It has wide apparent field of view
3/ The Illuminator has a dimmer so you can adjust the red cross hair brightness
4/ The optics are quite good , no aberration or light scatter

Because I now use my imaging DSLR on live view in BYEOS on the lappy to polar align with Synscan , my Orion illuminated reticle eye piece didnít go to waste , I now use it to align my Skywatcher 12Ē Goto dob for visual astronomy , once again this big dob is aligned in less than 10 minutes

Good luck and clear skies !!
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 04-05-2020, 10:04 AM
jayconnor's Avatar
jayconnor (Jay)
Registered User

jayconnor is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: melbourne
Posts: 114
Has anyone ever had any issues while setting their home position with the RA clock ring? when i get to the stage of screwing the RA clock ring tight, it doesn't seem to move the numbers when I unlock the clutch and swing it clockwise/anticlockwise.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 04-05-2020, 10:53 AM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,578
Jay
Regarding setting home position
You have to loosen the green RA and DEC clock rings 2 or 3 turns out in order for them to rotate with the RA and DEC axis
My HEQ5 is getting a bit old and weathered now so sometimes I have to loosen them and hold them with my thumb against the mount so they rotate with the movement of the mount axis thereby getting an accurate clock angle
Does that make sense ?
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 05-05-2020, 08:55 AM
jayconnor's Avatar
jayconnor (Jay)
Registered User

jayconnor is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: melbourne
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Startrek View Post
Jay
Regarding setting home position
You have to loosen the green RA and DEC clock rings 2 or 3 turns out in order for them to rotate with the RA and DEC axis
My HEQ5 is getting a bit old and weathered now so sometimes I have to loosen them and hold them with my thumb against the mount so they rotate with the movement of the mount axis thereby getting an accurate clock angle
Does that make sense ?
Yeah i turn the RA clock ring do the whole home setup procedure. put it zero and screw it tight and then when i turn the mount it just doesnt move. It stays on zero. The dec clock works fine. but i think maybe something is broken with the RA clock?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 05-05-2020, 02:47 PM
jayconnor's Avatar
jayconnor (Jay)
Registered User

jayconnor is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: melbourne
Posts: 114
i have uploaded two photos to hopefully help you understand.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (Webp.net-resizeimage (1).jpg)
190.2 KB22 views
Click for full-size image (Webp.net-resizeimage.jpg)
195.6 KB20 views
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 05-05-2020, 08:32 PM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,578
If you loosen the RA clock ring screws out a fair bit and unlock the RA axis can you rotate the clock ring and the RA axis together whilst holding the RA clock ring with your thumb across the clock ring and mount axis
If so you can set your home position
The clock ring is only a marker for setting home position against the pointer on the mount
I coloured my DEC and RA raised cast pointer marks on the mount with black permanent marker to make them easier to see and align to

Another question , is your mount brand new or second hand ?
If brand new I would contact your supplier and ask for a warranty repair if you can solve this issue

If you understand the concept of setting home position on your mount , Iím sure you can resolve this issue

Good luck !
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 08:03 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Limpet Controller
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement