Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Equipment Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 24-10-2020, 03:00 PM
leon's Avatar
leon
Registered User

leon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ballarat
Posts: 11,174
Err message in Canon 5D, some suggestions please

Hi guys, I have a Canon 5D which has been fine until last night.

I have had it from new and it has served me well until the message Err came up on the screen and from there on it played up even shooting when it was turned off, or shooting in off and no card in the camera.

The error message has no number with it and is just ERR.

I played around with it a bit and it seems to have come good, but i want it for lightning shots tonight and sure as hell when i go out it will stop again.

So what may have caused this and do you think it will behave in the future or is there something lurking in the background.

Your suggestions would be much appreciated, thank you.

Leon
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24-10-2020, 03:18 PM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,301
Leon,

Have you tried this blog? Ask them, maybe someone knows,
https://canonrepair.wordpress.com/readers/


It is not on the list...
https://canonrepair.wordpress.com/20...s-in-eos-dslr/
https://www.stellarinfo.com/article/...-and-fixes.php
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24-10-2020, 05:02 PM
leon's Avatar
leon
Registered User

leon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ballarat
Posts: 11,174
Many Thanks bojan, much appreciated.

Leon
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25-10-2020, 02:34 PM
Nikolas's Avatar
Nikolas (Nik)
Dazed and confused

Nikolas is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,827
when a err message comes up like that it could be dirty contacts on the lens you are using, also when you clean the contacts remove the battery let it go for a few minutes then replace back in.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26-10-2020, 09:35 AM
leon's Avatar
leon
Registered User

leon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ballarat
Posts: 11,174
Will do Nik, thank you.

Just out of interest for any further inquires, could my power source cause any issues.

I have always used batteries and things seemed fine, however when this issue occurred i had used a Canon ACK-E2 Adapter, a unit that gives continuous power, no need for batteries.

I have used this before on other occasions and it all seemed fine.

However on this occasion i had it plugged into a very long extension that i fabricated myself with twin flex cable etc, it was 25 meters long.

Could the length of the cable have an effect on the power supply needed to operate this adapter, was there to much of a power drop, maybe.

So if that was the case could this low power cause a malfunction to the Camera, something has happened as the Camera still has the issue, i think something is damaged.

Leon
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26-10-2020, 10:15 AM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,301
Leon,

Hmm.. Did you have 25 metres of cable between camera and PS, or are you talking about 25 metres of 240VAC cable?

25 metres of cable between camera and power source is not a good idea.. this means there is a substantial inductance inserted in power rail that could damage the camera (in principle).

Did you notice error like flat battery?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26-10-2020, 10:24 AM
LewisM's Avatar
LewisM
Novichok test rabbit

LewisM is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Somewhere in the cosmos...
Posts: 9,981
I used to get the ERR code on a 4D I had. Clean the lens contacts ON THE LENS (not the camera body) with a pencil eraser and try again. Worked with mine and those cheap stock lenses (never had the issue with the non-kit lenses)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26-10-2020, 10:27 AM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,301
Yep.. BTW, do you have problem w/o lens attached?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26-10-2020, 11:04 AM
leon's Avatar
leon
Registered User

leon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ballarat
Posts: 11,174
Thanks guys, yes lens or no lens it made no difference, it even fired when it was turned off.
And when it was shooting in this error mode nothing would come up on the screen, and nothing was available for review.

Bojan, i had 25 meters from wall socket to adapter.

Leon
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26-10-2020, 11:29 AM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 6,301
OK, so 25 metres of 240VAC?
Not 25m of cable with 8V?

If you had 25 metres of low voltage cable, that could have been the issue, because cameras are not designed to work with significant inductance in series with battery or power supply source.
I am not suggesting this was the cause of problem, but I wouldn't do it... as I mentioned, too much inductance in power rail.

The problem is, current surges (natural thing with digital circuitry) could generate high over-voltage spikes in series inductance.. Now, those should be smoothed by onboard capacitors, but.. cameras are not designed to be operated like this, with inductance in series with battery, so there was some possibility of damage. Then again it could be just curious coincidence....
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 26-10-2020, 12:32 PM
leon's Avatar
leon
Registered User

leon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ballarat
Posts: 11,174
Thanks Bojan, I do have to say you are probably right, as the camera has never failed since i bought it some 13 years ago.

Plug it in once with an adapter and it is history, a coincidence maybe,

Leon
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 09:28 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Limpet Controller
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement