Old 20-01-2016, 06:45 PM
75BC (Brendon)
Always in the dark.

Just looking thanks.

Just wanted to ask other purely visual guys and girls, why they have not gone down the path so many seem to take with astrophotography. When I say ‘purely visual’ I’m not counting the odd happy snap I think nearly everyone likes to take. I’ll kick off with my reasons.

TIME – I just don’t have enough of it to devote to learning, and doing AP. Truth be told, I don’t have enough time to do the visual astronomy I’d like. For me, I think photography would be a natural progression once I’d spent countless hours looking at everything I could, many times over. I don’t know if that day will ever come for me. I’ve been doing this (with a telescope) for about 12 years and I’m still learning some of the basics of what’s up there.

MONEY – Something else I don’t have enough of. I come from a very modest background, and still earn a very basic income. It took 20 years of interest in astronomy before I could afford a ‘real’ telescope. It’s often mentioned on here about AP being a slippery slope, so I avoid even looking over the edge knowing I’ll be half way down before I realize what’s happening. I’m old enough now to know my limits (financial and otherwise), and my recent acquisitions (CPC1100 + a few half decent eyepieces) are more than I thought I would ever own. So equipment wise, I’ am a pretty happy chap right now.