ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Crescent
4.8%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
8:29 pm
Perth
5:29 pm
Auckland*
10:29 pm
New York
4:29 am
Paris
10:29 am
GMT
9:29 am




Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > ATM and DIY Projects

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 12 votes, 4.92 average.
  #321  
Old Yesterday, 10:33 AM
OzEclipse's Avatar
OzEclipse (Joe Cali)
Registered User

OzEclipse is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 738
Ok so your edge tiles are down to a bit more than half thickness. I would keep grinding for now. It gets tricky. You don't want to run out of glass near the end of the 80 grit because then if you have to retile, you will be grinding just to grind the resurfaced tool to match the mirror. You definitely don't want to run out of glass on the edge during the fine grind or you'll have to go back to coarse grind to resurface the tool. Just monitor the situation. If it looks like you won't make it, resurface the tool with fresh tiles when there is maybe 3mm left on the edge. Then you'll have an even 8mm all over to finish the job.

Joe
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 07:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Esprit
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement