#1  
Old 22-04-2009, 07:00 PM
trick's Avatar
trick
Registered User

trick is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 141
Recomended SD Memory Card

What type of card would I need for a canon 1000d? any suggestions on brands or capacity for astro work?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22-04-2009, 07:35 PM
acropolite's Avatar
acropolite (Phil)
Registered User

acropolite is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Launceston Tasmania
Posts: 8,988
Shopping square have good prices on flash memory, I recently bought a couple of Kingston 16Gb cards after a recommendation from a photographer mate. Their prices are excellent, freight reasonable and they don't sell dodgy cards.

It's worth noting that the larger the card, the longer it will take to transfer to your PC. Look for a transfer rate of at least 15Mb/s, at that speed a full 2Gb card will take around 15 minutes to transfer to your HDD. If you're after some fast add on storage they also have 1Tb Astone external eSATA/USB drives at just $159
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22-04-2009, 07:55 PM
trick's Avatar
trick
Registered User

trick is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 141
Thanks Phil
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22-04-2009, 08:33 PM
tlgerdes's Avatar
tlgerdes (Trevor)
Love the moonless nights!

tlgerdes is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,280
Hi Trick

I just (last week) purchased a 1000d TKIS with 4Gb Transcend SDHC card, $1119 delivered. The card is a "Class 6" which rates it as a minimum of 6Mbs. Haven't found a latency issue with it so far, but for my astro work I use the Canon utility to control shutter and save RAW direct to my laptop.

I think any of the major brands are good, but get a Class 6 card.

Cam $1092, SD card $18, deliv $9.

Trev
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22-04-2009, 09:38 PM
trick's Avatar
trick
Registered User

trick is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 141
Thanks Trev, class 6 is any sdhc card? in lieu of a sd card?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22-04-2009, 10:15 PM
rat156's Avatar
rat156
Registered User

rat156 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,653
Nice tip for the shopping site. I'm in the market for more memory for a video camera and the Nikon.

Are you sure it'll take that long to download a full 2Gb card?

I have an 8Gb in my Nikon and that certainly doesn't take an hour to dowloadn a full card. It's only a Sandisk UltraII card, so it's nothing special.

Cheers
Stuart
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22-04-2009, 11:00 PM
rogerg's Avatar
rogerg (Roger)
Registered User

rogerg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 4,542
I just received a Sandisk Extreme III which has transfer speeds of 20Mb/s, class 6. A bit more expensive than lesser cards of the same capacity, so hopefully worth it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22-04-2009, 11:16 PM
Benny L (Ben)
Registered User

Benny L is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Carmel - Perth Hills
Posts: 303
anything from sandisk or lexar.. using sandisk extreme IV atm.. nice and quick!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23-04-2009, 04:59 AM
tlgerdes's Avatar
tlgerdes (Trevor)
Love the moonless nights!

tlgerdes is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,280
Hi trick

Yes, SDHC Class 6 in any vendor is rated at min 6Mbs. Go to http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SD_card for more info.

I used http://www.staticice.com.au to find the price for camera was cheapest from HBOutlet in Syd. The pricing changes from day to day based on retailer specials.

Trev
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 23-04-2009, 07:17 AM
acropolite's Avatar
acropolite (Phil)
Registered User

acropolite is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Launceston Tasmania
Posts: 8,988
Quote:
Are you sure it'll take that long to download a full 2Gb card?
Do the arithmetic, 15Mbits/s is (the key word here is bits) 15/8Mbytes per second (roughly excluding any parity bits etc) which is just under 2Mbytes per second = 120Mb per minute 2Gb\120mB is roughly 17 minutes thats without taking in to account any handhaking or parity bits etc. In practice my 15Mb/s speed card transfers slightly faster than that.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 23-04-2009, 09:44 PM
trick's Avatar
trick
Registered User

trick is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 141
Thanks all
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 26-06-2009, 08:19 PM
acropolite's Avatar
acropolite (Phil)
Registered User

acropolite is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Launceston Tasmania
Posts: 8,988
Quote:
Do the arithmetic, 15Mbits/s is (the key word here is bits) 15/8Mbytes per second (roughly excluding any parity bits etc) which is just under 2Mbytes per second = 120Mb per minute 2Gb\120mB is roughly 17 minutes thats without taking in to account any handhaking or parity bits etc. In practice my 15Mb/s speed card transfers slightly faster than that.
I'm going to contradict myself here, while the arithmetic is sound, cards are actually rated at MBytes/second, If you get a fast USB or firewire card reader that same 2Gb will transfer in under a couple of minutes. The slow transfer rates I have measured are due to poor reader performance particularly from the inbuilt card readers.
I bought a Sandisk Imagemate USB2.0 reader writer the other day and the performance is outstanding. The reader will take all common card types and can transfer at up to 34MB/s
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 30-06-2009, 07:42 AM
White Rabbit's Avatar
White Rabbit
Space Cadet

White Rabbit is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,409
I have the same camera, and I only use the laptop for storage. You'll probably end up doing the same in the end. It's easier plus you can set your exposure lengths and the amount of exposures you want to take from the canon utility, you cant do that from the camera it's self, you will need some kind of remote to do multiple exposures. I bought a remote from ebay for about $60 before I realized that the laptop software does it for you. Its still hand to have the remote though as you can do timelapse photography with and you dont need to lug a laptop around with you.

Check out the canan soft ware before you buy a card then decide what size you need.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 30-06-2009, 11:38 AM
toryglen-boy's Avatar
toryglen-boy (Duncan)
Scotland to Australia

toryglen-boy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Canberra
Posts: 1,645
Trev, go to the local computer fair, i went to the one in Woden a few weeks ago, and got a 16Gb card for $56

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 30-06-2009, 12:51 PM
tlgerdes's Avatar
tlgerdes (Trevor)
Love the moonless nights!

tlgerdes is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,280
See the thing is, that at 16GBytes, that's an awful lot of photos...... to lose.

4GB gives me 750 jpegs for everyday photography, why would I want 3000 photos on my camera. Even if I do raw on the card, 4Gb it is still like 250 photos.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 30-06-2009, 02:30 PM
toryglen-boy's Avatar
toryglen-boy (Duncan)
Scotland to Australia

toryglen-boy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Canberra
Posts: 1,645
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlgerdes View Post
See the thing is, that at 16GBytes, that's an awful lot of photos...... to lose.

4GB gives me 750 jpegs for everyday photography, why would I want 3000 photos on my camera. Even if I do raw on the card, 4Gb it is still like 250 photos.
Two points on this.

1. 1Gb, 4Gb, or 16Gb, i wouldnt want to lose anything! but if your camera takes movies, especially hi-def movies, then its a handy thing to have, also handy for huge chucks of files around from one PC to the next.

2. Men are obssessed with numbers, why have 4Gb, when 16Gb is not more expensive, can store more, has infinitely more uses, and gives me more testosterone into the bargain


Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 30-06-2009, 03:32 PM
tlgerdes's Avatar
tlgerdes (Trevor)
Love the moonless nights!

tlgerdes is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by toryglen-boy View Post

2. Men are obssessed with numbers, why have 4Gb, when 16Gb is not more expensive, can store more, has infinitely more uses, and gives me more testosterone into the bargain
I mustn't be blessed with testosterone like you Dunc, I come from the "do more, with less" camp.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 30-06-2009, 03:54 PM
toryglen-boy's Avatar
toryglen-boy (Duncan)
Scotland to Australia

toryglen-boy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Canberra
Posts: 1,645
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlgerdes View Post
I mustn't be blessed with testosterone like you Dunc, I come from the "do more, with less" camp.
A very astute observation,

Coming from Glasgow, i have adopted the "do less, as there is loads, so lets others do more for you" approach

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 10:07 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Astromechanics
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement