#1  
Old 28-08-2010, 09:13 PM
Tandum's Avatar
Tandum (Robin)
Registered User

Tandum is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Carindale, Brisbane.
Posts: 4,113
QHY5 Guide Problem.

Very intermittenty, while guiding, my mount will zoom off a couple of degrees. It's simple enough to slew back but the move commands appears to be coming from the qhy5.

Last night I happened to be in front of the lappy and saw it. A car passed by, I saw a bit of glare on the phd screen and heard the mount motors whir and the star zoom off. Tonight I have VNC running inside and it has done it again. When I went outside, a bus was doing a u-turn out back. The back on my place is on a dead end street.

Has anyone else seen anything similar and maybe have a fix?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28-08-2010, 10:13 PM
Omaroo's Avatar
Omaroo (Chris Malikoff)
Let there be night...

Omaroo is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney/Cooma
Posts: 7,628
Have you tried to turn down the gain Robin?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28-08-2010, 10:31 PM
Tandum's Avatar
Tandum (Robin)
Registered User

Tandum is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Carindale, Brisbane.
Posts: 4,113
No, didn't even consider it. I normally run it at about 80%, I'll try it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29-08-2010, 06:23 AM
Alchemy (Clive)
Quietly watching

Alchemy is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Yarra Junction
Posts: 2,949
Given your description it's simply light shining into your guidescope from headlights, just build yourself a portable screen, couple of poles and a bit of shade cloth should do it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31-08-2010, 10:03 PM
Tandum's Avatar
Tandum (Robin)
Registered User

Tandum is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Carindale, Brisbane.
Posts: 4,113
I have an 8 foot fence/hedge around the pier clive and all that is a meter above the road? It's done it again once so far tonight but I missed it completely. I do have the gain cut back to 70% tonight. It looks like it's going to be hard to identify
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31-08-2010, 11:37 PM
leinad's Avatar
leinad
Registered User

leinad is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 1,307
I saw this too when I was running at 2x2 binning. Maybe pure chance, but had no problems afterwards at 1x1.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-09-2010, 01:17 AM
Tandum's Avatar
Tandum (Robin)
Registered User

Tandum is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Carindale, Brisbane.
Posts: 4,113
I've been using PHD so it's only 1x1. Maxim will do 2x2 on the qhy5 but changing guide scopes meant screwing around with settings and phd is just click and go regardless really. I do have rings coming to make my stellarvue 60 the guidescope, so maxim might get another run. That said, I had to turn down everything when this tak mount showed up. It requires far less input to get movement than the eq6 did.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 10:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement