#1  
Old 04-03-2010, 01:44 PM
ebrnouveau (Eschembrenner)
Registered User

ebrnouveau is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: new Caledonia
Posts: 10
QHY8 problems

Hi
I recently bought a QHY8 camera from Starizona which i want to run on Vista 32bits and Maxim/DL.The camera came with an installation disc for QHY8 2.0 driver Set up and QHY8 Maxim/DL V 3.4 LIBUS.Having done this installation I went in Maxim but no trace of QHY8 in the main camera ccd camera Setup.I emailled Dean from Starizona about the problem .He sent me back Tom drivers (QHY8 MaxLu exe and QHY8 ASCOM Setup .exe.) Same results.This morning another email with MaximQHY.zip to copy in Diffraction Limited>Maxim/DL.Now the QHY8 appeared under the main camera Setup .But when I clicked on Connect I got the answer;could'nt initialize the camera . I am desponded .Here in Noumea nobody knows anything about this camera .So I need some help, a big help....
Could you do this for me ?
Bear in mind that you are dealing with an old man whose language is french .Be patient and not to technical
Many thanks ,Merci
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-03-2010, 02:30 PM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,778
and Welcome to the site ebrnouveau

There are quite a few QHY8 users on the forum. I'm sure someone will be along shortly to help you with your problem.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-03-2010, 02:41 PM
toryglen-boy's Avatar
toryglen-boy (Duncan)
Scotland to Australia

toryglen-boy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Canberra
Posts: 1,645
bonjour, avez-vous reçu autres applications avec la caméra ? ou juste chauffeurs ?


j'avais un peu de problème avec l'installation de chauffeur à, avez-vous été aux forum QHY ? un bon conseil.

http://www.qhyccd.com/ccdbbs/


permettez-moi de jeter un coup d'oeil à que chauffeurs j'ai installé et signale en arrière plus tard





Quote:
Originally Posted by ebrnouveau View Post
Hi
I recently bought a QHY8 camera from Starizona which i want to run on Vista 32bits and Maxim/DL.The camera came with an installation disc for QHY8 2.0 driver Set up and QHY8 Maxim/DL V 3.4 LIBUS.Having done this installation I went in Maxim but no trace of QHY8 in the main camera ccd camera Setup.I emailled Dean from Starizona about the problem .He sent me back Tom drivers (QHY8 MaxLu exe and QHY8 ASCOM Setup .exe.) Same results.This morning another email with MaximQHY.zip to copy in Diffraction Limited>Maxim/DL.Now the QHY8 appeared under the main camera Setup .But when I clicked on Connect I got the answer;could'nt initialize the camera . I am desponded .Here in Noumea nobody knows anything about this camera .So I need some help, a big help....
Could you do this for me ?
Bear in mind that you are dealing with an old man whose language is french .Be patient and not to technical
Many thanks ,Merci
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-03-2010, 04:39 PM
ebrnouveau (Eschembrenner)
Registered User

ebrnouveau is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: new Caledonia
Posts: 10
Qhy8

Dear Ponders

Thank you. Hope for some help

Merci
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-03-2010, 04:47 PM
ebrnouveau (Eschembrenner)
Registered User

ebrnouveau is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: new Caledonia
Posts: 10
QHY8 Problems

Cher toryglen-boy

J'ai installe le driver fourni par Stararizona puis celui de Tom.Je voudrais bien aller sur le Forumm de QHY mais ne sais pas comment m'enregister.J'ai essaye , mais c'est complique ,on me dit que mon nom ou mon password est faux .Que faut-il faire?
Si vous retrouvez le nom de votre driver faites le moi savoir.
Merci
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-03-2010, 04:54 PM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 18,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebrnouveau View Post
Cher toryglen-boy

J'ai installe le driver fourni par Stararizona puis celui de Tom.Je voudrais bien aller sur le Forumm de QHY mais ne sais pas comment m'enregister.J'ai essaye , mais c'est complique ,on me dit que mon nom ou mon password est faux .Que faut-il faire?
Si vous retrouvez le nom de votre driver faites le moi savoir.
Merci
PMd
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-03-2010, 05:05 PM
bert's Avatar
bert (Brett)
Automation nut

bert is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bathurst
Posts: 667
Sometimes vista does not recognize drivers, I had this problem with vista 32 and a fli driver.
Try in the the RUN command in windows 'regsvr32' and the root of the driver file.

Hope this helps

Brett
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-03-2010, 02:34 AM
Gama's Avatar
Gama
Registered User

Gama is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,121
I knew someone from New Caledonia, he used to bring Test equipment once a year into Australia for Calibration. He belonged to the Astronomical Society in New Caledonia. Just cant remember his name.. Not you by any chance..

Did you sort out the driver issue.


Theo
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-03-2010, 05:19 PM
ebrnouveau (Eschembrenner)
Registered User

ebrnouveau is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: new Caledonia
Posts: 10
Qhy8

Not yet.Now I have some problem with my laptop.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-03-2010, 12:57 PM
mithrandir's Avatar
mithrandir (Andrew)
Registered User

mithrandir is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Glenhaven
Posts: 4,161
I'm not sure if this is related, but my QHY8 is really picky as to what USB cables will work.

Are there any 5m USB cables around that will work? I've tried some and Windoze reports that "the USB2 device will work better plugged into a USB2 port", or sometimes the first of the "new device" driver installs runs, but the second one does not and the camera won't work.

If I switch to the short cable that came with the camera it works plugged into the same port on the same laptop.

I've tried the same process on another laptop and got the same symptoms.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-03-2010, 03:04 PM
ebrnouveau (Eschembrenner)
Registered User

ebrnouveau is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: new Caledonia
Posts: 10
Qhy8

I am using a 3m USB cable ,not the one that comes with the camera.Will try the other one.Have the feeling that the driver for Maxim/DL is not correctly installed.Whenever I launch my laptop Windows tell me roblem with QHY8 Maxim?DL LIBUSB Setup.Dont know if there is other Maxim LIBUSB Driver available and where.
Regards.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-03-2010, 03:30 PM
leinad's Avatar
leinad
Registered User

leinad is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 1,307
I'm using a 5m USB Repeater Cable which works nicely.
If I click things too quickly in MaxDL though sometimes the camera locks up and I have to remove the USB cables, plug back in and start imaging program again; but I know where it happens so it isn't too much a cause for concern.

I solved everything by Uninstalling anything QHY related from Control Panel; then running QHY Driver Removal Tool.
Reboot. Install QHY8 and QHY Ascom drivers, reboot, connect camera, and perfecto.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-03-2010, 03:45 PM
Hagar (Doug)
Registered User

Hagar is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,646
The best way to run QHY8 using MaximDL is to run the ASCOM drivers.

To install the ascom drivers effectively you must remove all previous installed drivers. Do this in the control panel, programs and features menu. Then install the system drivers, then the Ascom drivers. Best available from Toms site. http://www.astrosoft.be . He has information on how to remove the old drivers from your computer on the site also.

Remember to install the system drivers with the camera unplugged and only plug the camera in once the system setup is complete.

Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-03-2010, 07:14 PM
ebrnouveau (Eschembrenner)
Registered User

ebrnouveau is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: new Caledonia
Posts: 10
QHY8 Problemssss

Just brought back the camera from the computer's specialist.Tried to install drivers for working with Nebulosity failed .Tried to install Ascom and QHY8 drivers for Maxim/DL without success.Said that there is still some DLL remains from the former drivers supplied with the camera that he cant get rid off.
Thanks for your help
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-03-2010, 08:02 PM
Gama's Avatar
Gama
Registered User

Gama is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,121
Which versions of drivers are you using ?, what is the links from where you downloaded from.

Let me know these first, and then we can help you get it going.
It shouldnt be that hard, and 99% of the time its not, but every now and then, some people get stuck.

Oh, a final question, what is your USB port version ?, is it USB 1.1 or USB 2.0 ?. Please make sure yu are correct in finding this out.
Check the manual for specification on it.


Theo.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-03-2010, 10:18 AM
ebrnouveau (Eschembrenner)
Registered User

ebrnouveau is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: new Caledonia
Posts: 10
Hi Theo'
What et coincidence.Last night I was reading your comments about Gary's (gbeal) problems with is QHY8 .I followed your instructions to the letter on how to remove the formers drivers and install Tom drivers which I found on your site .This morning I coul'nt believe my eyes when Maxim/DL initialized QHY8 ,something I have been unable to do for weeks .You deserve a big thanks Theo and Marc (multiweb) also He has been very helpfull in my ordeal .Now I have to learn how to work with this camera .Need some practice
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-03-2010, 09:54 PM
Gama's Avatar
Gama
Registered User

Gama is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,121
This is good to hear, and im glad you are back in business.

Theo.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 01:55 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement