#1  
Old 21-08-2006, 07:47 PM
leon's Avatar
leon
Registered User

leon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ballarat
Posts: 10,813
Canon Rebel X, error 99

Hi All

I dont now how true this is, but i was researching camers and came across a site where they were discussing the Canon Rebel XT, and it was said by many in their reports that this perticular camera has a major fault.

It discussed the issue about attaching different lenses and especially Sigma Lens, and then the camera failed to operate properly, also displaying an error message which was (error 99).

I have no idea of what this means, and was wondering i anyone else has heard of this problem.

Cheers Leon
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21-08-2006, 08:02 PM
RAJAH235's Avatar
RAJAH235
A very 'Senior' member.

RAJAH235 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Coast N.S.W.
Posts: 2,490
Leon, you could start here...> http://www.google.com.au/search?hl=e...e+Search&meta=
HTH.. L.
ps. This one shows promise > http://www.richardsnotes.org/archive...ontact-points/

Last edited by RAJAH235; 22-08-2006 at 01:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22-08-2006, 05:21 AM
CometGuy's Avatar
CometGuy
Registered User

CometGuy is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 942
Leon,

Error 99 is a 'catch all' error on the 350d (known as the Rebel XT in the US) . There is sometimes a problem with older Sigma lenses not being able to function correctly with current Cameras and I have also heard of the dirty contact problem as well. I use a Sigma lens (on a 350d and 300d) and have never had a problem.

Despite what is sometimes said the 350d has developed a reputation as being a durable camera.

Terry
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22-08-2006, 07:33 AM
acropolite's Avatar
acropolite (Phil)
Registered User

acropolite is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Launceston Tasmania
Posts: 8,985
As Terry says an error 99 is no big deal, I have seen it once with my 20D, after changing lenses, most likely thing in my case was that the camera couldn't communicate correctly with the lens (a Canon Lens). Reseating the lens fixed the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22-08-2006, 09:26 PM
leon's Avatar
leon
Registered User

leon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ballarat
Posts: 10,813
Thanks for that, i was just wondering what i entailed.

Leon
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 12:34 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement