Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Astrophotography and Imaging Equipment and Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #41  
Old 04-04-2010, 07:24 AM
kinetic's Avatar
kinetic (Steve)
ATMer and Saganist

kinetic is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Adelaide S.A.
Posts: 2,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by strongmanmike View Post
Oh YEAH! it's big Fred and so is the camera...

The big CFW bolts to the front surface of the camera so tilt shouldn't be an issue at least

Horse
Wow, too much testosterone in this thread...
Someone's compensating?
Looking forward to seeing the next step in your imaging journey Mike

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 04-04-2010, 07:30 AM
strongmanmike's Avatar
strongmanmike (Michael)
Woohoo it's clear

strongmanmike is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canberra
Posts: 14,711
Quote:
Someone's compensating?
DOH! the secret's out
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 04-04-2010, 07:53 AM
Garyh's Avatar
Garyh
Amongst the stars

Garyh is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Glen Innes, N.S.W.
Posts: 2,839
Ah that photo made our kids laugh! LOL
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 04-04-2010, 09:17 AM
jase (Jason)
Registered User

jase is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Posts: 3,916
...and I'm guessing you're expecting RoboFocus will lift the unit with precision focusing still obtainable right?

You maybe in for a few surprises...Even with a RF duty cycle at 100%, it still couldn't produce repeatable results. The RF gear ratio was too weak for the payload of the Apogee U16M w/D9 cooling package I have. The AI-FW50-7S with filters is 1.6kg alone. I would imagine your FLI kit has a similar payload weight.

I killed my RoboFocus motor due to this, hence the reason why I've not been productive with my own gear despite having the camera since Christmas... That has now changed having just replaced the original robofocus stepper with its 1:75 gear ratio with a new Hurst stepper that has a 1:300 ratio. Focusing woes have disappeared with more torque and improved accuracy.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 04-04-2010, 09:55 AM
strongmanmike's Avatar
strongmanmike (Michael)
Woohoo it's clear

strongmanmike is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canberra
Posts: 14,711
Oh oh ....darling...err? I need to get an FLI Atlas focuser now....

Yes I had thought of that Jase but hoped the extra 600g over my previous setup would be within spec . I don't use the automatic focus sequences at this stage, I simply focus using the remote RF hand control so repeatability isn't an issue...yet.

So...any pictures of you holding "your" beasty?

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 04-04-2010, 12:05 PM
jase (Jason)
Registered User

jase is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Posts: 3,916
Yeah, only 600g extra you should be ok. I had a FLI PDF for a while - nice focuser. You'll quickly know if your Robofocus is at its limit. Will start to make unpleasant noises when moving the draw tube out (not in). It will also appear to slip. I tightened everything up to no avail. The biggest give away is when you start using software like FocusMax and your v-curves are all over the place.

I'm afraid no photos of me holding the gear. Its already on the scope - I don't muck around! The 4" CAA in the imaging train provides a good sense of scale. Its considerably larger than the STL series thats for sure. Still working through the imaging train configuration. The poor quality mobile phone photos show a MonsterMOAG in path, but I've got a separate guide scope with ST-402ME on board - as seen. Toying up whether I'll go with MMOAG - unlikely at this stage. Waste of time to guide at only 530mm. The other image shows the "super robofocus" mentioned in the previous post. Filter wheel has a full set of 50mm square Astrodon LRGB GenIIs, 5nm Ha, 3nm SII and OIII. Went with 3nm for SII and OIII to maximise signal over background. Hard to get good signal on SII, but in my tests 3nm was a wise choice.

Anyway, you will not see much from me for a while. Heading OS for work for a couple of months next Wednesday. By the time I return, you'd better have your system pumping out some sweet images soon. Will try get online now and then to check the deep sky section.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (U16MD9a.jpg)
84.1 KB47 views
Click for full-size image (U16MD9b.jpg)
76.4 KB47 views
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 04-04-2010, 04:01 PM
strongmanmike's Avatar
strongmanmike (Michael)
Woohoo it's clear

strongmanmike is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canberra
Posts: 14,711
All looks pretty dam shmick Jase

Just out of interest what sealed the deal for you to go with the Apogee?

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 04-04-2010, 05:56 PM
Satchmo's Avatar
Satchmo (Mark)
Registered User

Satchmo is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,858
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexN View Post
Holy hell.. Do you see the size of the opening on the front of that camera! Geeezuuuss!! Most people could fit their fist inside there..
Jeese ....whats next ..CCD camera PORN

~MS
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 06:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement