#1  
Old 19-04-2013, 08:23 PM
Nico (John)
Registered User

Nico is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 44
SBIG ST-i USB hub issue

Has anyone experiencied issues with the readout of the ST-i camera through a USB 2.0 hub. Attached file shows the problem. Discovered when the camera is connected directly to the PC these readout problems are gone! I'v only the mount connected to the Hub at the time, very frustrating..

Using MAXIM DL


Nico
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (SBIG-ST-i_colour.jpg)
42.9 KB30 views
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19-04-2013, 08:41 PM
Nico (John)
Registered User

Nico is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 44
these two images may help to explain whats going on...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19-04-2013, 08:43 PM
Nico (John)
Registered User

Nico is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 44
try again..
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (USB2HUB-coverOn.jpg)
121.5 KB11 views
Click for full-size image (ST-iToPC.jpg)
82.5 KB12 views
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19-04-2013, 08:45 PM
Nico (John)
Registered User

Nico is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 44
I'm also using the ST8300M with no problems at all, me thinks its a latent defect with the camera.

John
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19-04-2013, 08:54 PM
cfranks (Charles)
Registered User

cfranks is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tungkillo, South Australia
Posts: 599
If the ST-i works properly without the Hub then it can't (shouldn't) be a problem with the camera. It very much looks like electronic noise, generated within the hub maybe. Are you powering the hub? If so, it might be a noisy PS. Lots of maybe's but the ST-i itself is a good one albeit less sensitive than the Lodestar. I got one for the shutter but switched back to the Lodestar for the sensitivity.

Charles
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19-04-2013, 09:13 PM
Nico (John)
Registered User

Nico is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 44
problem solved, tried on another PC then realised max current thriugh USB is 500mA. Problem has occured as a result of higher current demand and of course external HUB power was not available.

John
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20-04-2013, 06:32 AM
lazjen's Avatar
lazjen (Chris)
PI cult member

lazjen is online now
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Flaxton, Qld
Posts: 1,710
Although I'm way late to this thread and you've solved your problems, in general with USB hubs vs direct connections to PCs problems, it's often to do with lack of power to the USB hub. In general, try to get your USB hubs powered - it can a lot of angst.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 09:58 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement