#1  
Old 02-03-2009, 07:58 PM
stephenb's Avatar
stephenb (Stephen)
Registered User

stephenb is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: all over the shop...
Posts: 2,098
Canon 350D settings

Should I have the "Long Exposure Noise Reduction" (CF02) set on or off when doing some 15-30 sec tripod shots?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-03-2009, 08:04 PM
iceman's Avatar
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

iceman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
Posts: 36,709
It's up to you. What ISO are you using?

Sometimes I use ICNR even for short exposure shots.

If you're doing star trails I wouldn't, because you'll end up with gaps in the trails.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-03-2009, 08:09 PM
stephenb's Avatar
stephenb (Stephen)
Registered User

stephenb is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: all over the shop...
Posts: 2,098
oh, thinking of trying for Lulin tonight.

Say, ISO 800, 24mm, 15-20 sec exposures on a tripod, 30-50 in total. What are my chances of getting anything decent for DSS or Registax to work with?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-03-2009, 08:10 PM
Tilt's Avatar
Tilt (Michael)
Registered User

Tilt is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canberra
Posts: 548
As Mike said, probably depends on your ISO. Also the ambient temp, if its warm it could introduce noise into the image. Experiment and see.

Michael
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-03-2009, 08:13 PM
rogerg's Avatar
rogerg (Roger)
Registered User

rogerg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 4,538
I find that even with ICNR turned on in the settings my 350 doesn't decide to use it until the exposure time goes over something like 20 or more seconds. I would have it turned on for such shots. I only turn it off for series of longer exposures these days.

Roger.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-03-2009, 08:18 PM
stephenb's Avatar
stephenb (Stephen)
Registered User

stephenb is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: all over the shop...
Posts: 2,098
Thank you all, I only have a small window tonight (30-40 minutes) of observing as I have to get plenty of sleep for a big day at work tomorrow, and it may be my last chance at Lulin for a while.

And you wouldn't believe it, in the last 15 minutes the clouds have rolled in!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-03-2009, 08:46 PM
Tilt's Avatar
Tilt (Michael)
Registered User

Tilt is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canberra
Posts: 548
I think with ISO 1600 ICNR will activate if the exposure is longer than 1 sec, with ISO 800 or less I believe the exposure needs to be greater than 30 sec for ICNR to work. **this is going from memory here, I could be wrong**

Michael
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-03-2009, 11:51 AM
stephenb's Avatar
stephenb (Stephen)
Registered User

stephenb is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: all over the shop...
Posts: 2,098
Thanks again. Too many clouds from now on but I will keep all this in mind for the next comet!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 12:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement