ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Gibbous
60.3%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
4:58 pm
Perth
1:58 pm
Auckland*
6:58 pm
New York
12:58 am
Paris
6:58 am
GMT
5:58 am




  #1  
Old 12-02-2018, 01:24 PM
Tropo-Bob (Bob)
Registered User

Tropo-Bob is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Cairns
Posts: 536
NGC 3132 Planetary Nebula Vela (Caldwell 74)

NGC 3132 Planetary Nebula Vela (Caldwell 74) - viewed Feb 11 with Tak 100D

This is approximately 7 degress north of the Globular NGC 3201

EP Delite 7mm (105x) The bright star at the centre of the nebula was easily seen, but colour seemed absent.
EP Delite15mm (50x) The blue/green colour of the nebula could be seen at this magnification, but not the central star!

Remarks: I had forgotten how good this object is. Sometimes called, the Southern Ring Nebula, it does not disappoint. Another name is the Eight-Burst Nebula, however, I did not notice the famed 8 shape.

More Information: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NGC_3132
https://apod.nasa.gov/apod/ap150607.html
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14-02-2018, 09:09 AM
Saturnine (Jeff)
Registered User

Saturnine is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wollongong
Posts: 366
Enjoying your observational reports Tropo- Bob, have observed all the objects you've mentioned, over the years and am looking to re-aquaint myself with them all when the new scope is finished.
NGC 3132 is a lovely smoke ring of a planetary nebula in the 8" dob at 114X with an Pentax 10.5 XL and Baader UHC filter, can't recall seeing any colour with that aperture but the central star , yes.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14-02-2018, 12:02 PM
bigjoe (Joe)
Registered User

bigjoe is online now
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: sydney
Posts: 1,054
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tropo-Bob View Post
NGC 3132 Planetary Nebula Vela (Caldwell 74) - viewed Feb 11 with Tak 100D

This is approximately 7 degress north of the Globular NGC 3201

EP Delite 7mm (105x) The bright star at the centre of the nebula was easily seen, but colour seemed absent.
EP Delite15mm (50x) The blue/green colour of the nebula could be seen at this magnification, but not the central star!

Remarks: I had forgotten how good this object is. Sometimes called, the Southern Ring Nebula, it does not disappoint. Another name is the Eight-Burst Nebula, however, I did not notice the famed 8 shape.

More Information: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NGC_3132
https://apod.nasa.gov/apod/ap150607.html
Great one Bob..this one should be on everyone's list to observe or Image..along with the likes of the Blue Planetary, Blue Eskimo, and Green CBS eye is one of my Favourites..never tried it below 6" here in the City or region..Was too low down last time I tried..
Worth a look once again, along with some top Doubles in the region..been looking in Lupus and some lovely forgotten ones there.
PS: Have been using Orthos lately to telling effect..definately they go deeper than the Deloi, with a better colour rendition.

bigjoe.

Last edited by bigjoe; 14-02-2018 at 12:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14-02-2018, 12:10 PM
strongmanmike's Avatar
strongmanmike (Michael)
Woohoo it's clear

strongmanmike is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canberra
Posts: 13,497
I agree Bob, this is a beauty of a planetary nebula to view visually and I like to take a squizz when I have my 12" Dob out. I did a deep image of it a year ago that shows some outer bits you can't see visually. I do like the visual appearance though, it looks really sharp and distinct.

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15-02-2018, 02:31 PM
Tropo-Bob (Bob)
Registered User

Tropo-Bob is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Cairns
Posts: 536
Thanks all. Michael, thanks for adding your image. Quite impressive!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 03:58 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Esprit
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement