#1  
Old 02-10-2014, 09:29 AM
technofetishism's Avatar
technofetishism (Nick)
Registered User

technofetishism is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 194
ATiK issues.

So, ive been noticing an issue with my ATIK 314L+ lately.

Occasionally while using SGP or AstroTortilla (or any other program that hooks into the ATIK) Every so often an ATIK dialog box pops up that says

"This is a driver service, not a program for you to use."

If this appears, I stop being able to download or send commands to the camera, usually requiring at the least to force terminate SGP and the ATIK ASCOM driver program. and sometimes even rebooting the camera.


Anyone seen this issue before?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-10-2014, 10:31 AM
Merlin66's Avatar
Merlin66 (Ken)
Spectroscopy Wizard

Merlin66 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St Leonards, Vic
Posts: 6,964
I use the ATiK16ic/ ATik16ic S/ ATiK 314L for guiding and spectroscopy.
Any reason you use the ASCOM drivers rather than the native ATiK drivers?
I haven't seen a similar error message (yet) - I use AstroPlanner/ CdC/ EQmod/ AstroArtV5 all on the same laptop as the cameras.....
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-10-2014, 12:08 PM
technofetishism's Avatar
technofetishism (Nick)
Registered User

technofetishism is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 194
Its what ever the ATIK drivers that come from ATIKS website are.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-10-2014, 01:10 PM
Merlin66's Avatar
Merlin66 (Ken)
Spectroscopy Wizard

Merlin66 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St Leonards, Vic
Posts: 6,964
Nick,
ATiK supply both the native driver and the ASCOM (V6.2) driver.
It may be an ASCOM issue, which could be resolved by using the native ATiK driver??

(Hmmm, just checked the SGP specs - seems to only work under ASCOM)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-10-2014, 12:20 PM
technofetishism's Avatar
technofetishism (Nick)
Registered User

technofetishism is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 194
Think I worked out the issue, It was a weird interaction between multiple things.

Part of the issue is with the atik ascom driver which can lock up and require restarts of camera and software.

Plus some USB bus issues when using the ASI120 in video mode.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 10:15 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement