#1  
Old 27-06-2013, 09:24 PM
Manav's Avatar
Manav (Yugant)
Resident Rigel fanboy

Manav is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North Sydney, Australia
Posts: 520
Lodestar and hot pixels

So I finally get home to connect my new Lodestar and fire up PHD. Select Starlight Xpress SXV as my camera and set the exposure to 1sec. Begin looping and I get nice stars. Wait how can that be? I'm in living room and the Lodestar has a lens cap on! (Its also raining outside)

On a serious note is Lodestar (Class A electronics) suppose to have these many hot pixels? Can Lodestar users chime in and tell me I shouldn't get worried...
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (Untitled.jpg)
108.4 KB62 views
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27-06-2013, 09:32 PM
RickS's Avatar
RickS (Rick)
PI cult recruiter

RickS is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 10,582
It's normal to have some hot pixels and sometimes a bit of "amp glow". I run mine with full calibration in Maxim and it works very well...

Cheers,
Rick.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27-06-2013, 09:34 PM
DavidTrap's Avatar
DavidTrap (David)
Really just a beginner

DavidTrap is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,828
+1

dt
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27-06-2013, 09:37 PM
Manav's Avatar
Manav (Yugant)
Resident Rigel fanboy

Manav is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North Sydney, Australia
Posts: 520
Odd I never had that many dead pixels on my QHY5. I'll try taking Darks in PHD if that helps..

So nothing to worry about then...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27-06-2013, 09:50 PM
RickS's Avatar
RickS (Rick)
PI cult recruiter

RickS is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 10,582
I don't what sort of screen stretch PhD is doing. Those pixels may only be warm But, no, it's quite normal and not a problem.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27-06-2013, 10:08 PM
Manav's Avatar
Manav (Yugant)
Resident Rigel fanboy

Manav is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North Sydney, Australia
Posts: 520
PHD auto stretches and auto scales. Nebulosity tells me that my 2 sec image has:

max 18660
min 682
mean 836
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28-06-2013, 12:29 PM
Marke's Avatar
Marke (Mark)
Registered User

Marke is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,193
It does have the odd hot pixel , I have had mine for a few years now and never had to do subtraction I just maually pick a guide star and its pretty obivious if its a hot pixel .
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28-06-2013, 01:41 PM
alistairsam's Avatar
alistairsam
Registered User

alistairsam is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Box Hill North, Vic
Posts: 1,815
if its a new one, I'd contact SX and send them the hot pixel screen shot.
I know another member here who a similar problem and they sent him a replacement straight away.
my thinking would be why put up with it after spending so much?

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29-06-2013, 05:46 PM
Manav's Avatar
Manav (Yugant)
Resident Rigel fanboy

Manav is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North Sydney, Australia
Posts: 520
According to the starlightxpress yahoo group its normal. PHD stretches so the image looks worse than it is. I'll put it to good use once the rain and clouds go away.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29-06-2013, 07:44 PM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 18,138
I have more hot pixels than that with my lodestar. Dark subtraction will sort that out.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 30-06-2013, 12:43 AM
Manav's Avatar
Manav (Yugant)
Resident Rigel fanboy

Manav is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North Sydney, Australia
Posts: 520
Btw Marc - Cable management
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (WP_20130630_005.jpg)
154.7 KB50 views
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 30-06-2013, 10:25 AM
pvelez's Avatar
pvelez (Pete)
Registered User

pvelez is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manav View Post
Btw Marc - Cable management
That must be one hell of a roll off roof you have there!

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 30-06-2013, 03:31 PM
Manav's Avatar
Manav (Yugant)
Resident Rigel fanboy

Manav is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North Sydney, Australia
Posts: 520
There is no roll of roof! I wish!

My setup is in the living room till someone complains....
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 30-06-2013, 03:51 PM
RickS's Avatar
RickS (Rick)
PI cult recruiter

RickS is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 10,582
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manav View Post
My setup is in the living room till someone complains....
So the subwoofer isn't used for guide corrections then?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 30-06-2013, 04:04 PM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 18,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manav View Post
Btw Marc - Cable management
Noice. I call that the Bolognese look.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 06:43 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement