#1  
Old 15-06-2013, 11:09 AM
Irish stargazer's Avatar
Irish stargazer (John)
Registered User

Irish stargazer is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Limerick Ireland
Posts: 681
Intervalometer for Canon

I has been meaning to get one of these for a long time for doing widefield shots with the Polarie (stacking multiple shots). Up to now I had been doing it manually with a release cable.
I looked up the Canon intervalometer at Camera House-$299 No way I am paying that. Fortunately they had the Hahnel GigaPro11 which is a wireless device for $99. Much better deal

http://www.hahnel.ie/index.cfm?page=...s&id=80&pId=80

Its really small and light with a claimed 100m range. Just tried it out this morning and it seems to work very well and is easy to program. It can run 99 cycles and then repeat that 99 times (so just under 10,000 shots possible) and no cables to get caught up in.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15-06-2013, 11:21 AM
pvelez's Avatar
pvelez (Pete)
Registered User

pvelez is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,250
Looks good John

Where do you buy it? Is there an Aus distributor?

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15-06-2013, 11:24 AM
Irish stargazer's Avatar
Irish stargazer (John)
Registered User

Irish stargazer is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Limerick Ireland
Posts: 681
I picked mine up from Camera house in-shop. They are widely available in many camera shops for around the $99 mark
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15-06-2013, 03:55 PM
naskies's Avatar
naskies (Dave)
Registered User

naskies is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,865
You can pick them up for cheap off eBay. This one even looks identical to the Canon one for $16 shipped to Australia:

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/LCD-Timer...fe71672&_uhb=1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15-06-2013, 03:57 PM
Larryp's Avatar
Larryp (Laurie)
Registered User

Larryp is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,244
Quote:
Originally Posted by naskies View Post
You can pick them up for cheap off eBay. This one even looks identical to the Canon one for $16 shipped to Australia:

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/LCD-Timer...fe71672&_uhb=1
Got mine off Ebay too-very cheap and works well
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15-06-2013, 04:21 PM
Irish stargazer's Avatar
Irish stargazer (John)
Registered User

Irish stargazer is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Limerick Ireland
Posts: 681
Had some bad experiences on eBay in the past. Never use it anymore.
The Hahnel had a good write up, in some cases better than the Canon and at one third the price.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15-06-2013, 04:25 PM
Octane's Avatar
Octane (Humayun)
IIS Member #671

Octane is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canberra
Posts: 11,158
There is no way the Canon intervalometer is worth $299.

I think I paid $180 for mine brand new.

Camera House and its ilk are mum and dad/brick and mortar stores that prey on the vulnerable.

You are able to get much, much better deals online.

I'm not sure why you're shying away from eBay. With PayPal protection, you are pretty much guaranteed your money back if a transaction goes awry.

H
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15-06-2013, 05:34 PM
Bassnut's Avatar
Bassnut (Fred)
Narrowfield rules!

Bassnut is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 4,771
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larryp View Post
Got mine off Ebay too-very cheap and works well
Yes, we'll you get what you pay for. I got a few cheapy remotes like this just for the plug (for my TL machine) which is impossible to get by itself. They are a disaster, intermittent as hell after a few uses, the genuine canon plug never fails. Nothing is cheap for no reason.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15-06-2013, 06:18 PM
naskies's Avatar
naskies (Dave)
Registered User

naskies is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,865
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irish stargazer View Post
Had some bad experiences on eBay in the past. Never use it anymore.
The Hahnel had a good write up, in some cases better than the Canon and at one third the price.
The Chinese manufacturers also sell direct:

http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Aputu...495177865.html

The money is held in escrow from the manufacturer until you confirm delivery.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16-06-2013, 01:45 PM
CometGuy's Avatar
CometGuy
Registered User

CometGuy is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 942
The Magic Lantern firmware v2.3 adds a very useful built-in intervalometer so that no added devices are actually needed.

See:

http://www.magiclantern.fm/

The other nice thing with Magic Lantern is it also allows you to increase the exposure in liveview, making it extremely easy to focus on starfields.

Terry
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 19-06-2013, 05:00 PM
Osirisra's Avatar
Osirisra (Ken)
Dead God

Osirisra is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by CometGuy View Post
The Magic Lantern firmware v2.3 adds a very useful built-in intervalometer so that no added devices are actually needed.

See:

http://www.magiclantern.fm/

The other nice thing with Magic Lantern is it also allows you to increase the exposure in liveview, making it extremely easy to focus on starfields.

Terry
Another vote for ML, my external intervalometer never gets used these days.

Couldn't imagine not having ML on my cameras now, such a great tool.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 19-06-2013, 07:15 PM
Ryderscope's Avatar
Ryderscope (Rodney)
Registered User

Ryderscope is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Glanmire, NSW
Posts: 1,195
I picked up the GigaPro from George's in Sydney for $99 and have been using it for for six months. Works a treat.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 19-06-2013, 07:45 PM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 5,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by CometGuy View Post
The Magic Lantern firmware v2.3 adds a very useful built-in intervalometer so that no added devices are actually needed.

See:

http://www.magiclantern.fm/

The other nice thing with Magic Lantern is it also allows you to increase the exposure in liveview, making it extremely easy to focus on starfields.

Terry
VERY interesting!
Thanks for the post

However, I am also very happy with two of my timers from ebay, I paid ~$30 for both.. have them for couple of years by now, without any problems (except perhaps LCD on one of them becomes slow at lower temperatures near 0C, but the electronics still works OK)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 20-06-2013, 07:44 PM
BlackWidow's Avatar
BlackWidow (Mardy)
Seeing Stars

BlackWidow is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Adelaide Australia
Posts: 610
Yep got mine from E-bay and given it the once over. Never given me any trouble and was $20. Looks like it should have cost at least $100 . Took it to Alaska to shoot the aurora,s and it was working great even at -40c. Sure got good value for money. It really makes me wonder about some of the brand names and where they are really being made... Could even be the same but not if you know what I'm saying. $20 not really a risk in my book. E-bay works for me mostly.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 20-06-2013, 08:03 PM
leon's Avatar
leon
Registered User

leon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ballarat
Posts: 10,804
I am assuming this is very similar to the TC-80N3, as it seems to do exactly the same thing.

Leon
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 20-06-2013, 10:10 PM
Yogie-One's Avatar
Yogie-One (Paul)
Registered User

Yogie-One is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Salisbury Downs, Adelaide
Posts: 33
Intervalometer for Canon

I have a Canon 550D, and picked up my intervalometer from EBay for About $15 Aus. I have used it on numerous occasions without any problems. I find it a joy to use. Just dial up EBay and search for "Intervalometer " and your type of camera. At the moment they are from about $12 to About $45, and some even with free postage.

Y.O. (Yogie-One) Paul
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 26-06-2013, 05:39 AM
Irish stargazer's Avatar
Irish stargazer (John)
Registered User

Irish stargazer is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Limerick Ireland
Posts: 681
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryderscope View Post
I picked up the GigaPro from George's in Sydney for $99 and have been using it for for six months. Works a treat.
I like being able to program the GigaPro away from the camera. No cables to get in the way or fall out. Hope to try it out at the next new moon weekend
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 26-06-2013, 06:21 AM
hotspur's Avatar
hotspur (Chris)
Registered User

hotspur is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: south east QLD,Australia
Posts: 2,851
Another vote for the cheap $20 ebay knock off,at that price you can buy 2 or 3 and always have one in car-could be the type of thing that gets left behind.

I had a nasty accident with mine,it somehow got left dangling when carrying stuff back inside,and got jamed badly when closing door-looked a mess,but still worked perfectly fine.

These ebay ones,look so similar to canon ones,very easy to program-nice little piece of kit.I use mine not just for astro-but when in field by yourself,and you need to be in pics-saves running back and forward,and editors like my style I developed using this method.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 02:22 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement