#1  
Old 08-05-2016, 10:24 AM
barx1963's Avatar
barx1963 (Malcolm)
Bright the hawk's flight

barx1963 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Waurn Ponds Vic
Posts: 3,785
USB Hubs

I have achieved what seems to be a reasonably OK system for imaging which I am pretty happy about. Last night I set it up and ran some luminence subs on NGC3372 (Eta Carina Nebula) for over an hour and it just ticked along.
The issue that I have is that sometimes, it all goes wrong. After finsishing with NGC3372, I moved over to try and get some data on M20.

It was chugging away on that happily and I suddenly noticed that cooling had turned off. So I attempted to see if the system was talking to the camera, it "seemed" to be connected but I couldn't do anything. Then I sent and had a look at PHD and sure enough, guiding had gone nuts (the DEC line had headed off the graph)
I am suspecting that the hub that I have everything running through a powered hub that I bought at the local Computer store. I am running the guide camera, the main camera, EQMOD and the game controller receiver through the hub.
I am suspecting that the hub may be the issue (given that 2 things went wrong at the same time and the only common factor is they both run though the hub), either:
1) I have too much stuff running through it, or
2) It is dodgy being a cheap thing I bought for $25

I am trying to source a Mount Hub Pro but the Aust Distrubutor (Sirius) doesn't have them and seems to be having trouble sourcing them from the UK.

Any thoughts anyone?

Malcolm
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-05-2016, 11:01 AM
vlazg's Avatar
vlazg (George)
Registered User

vlazg is offline
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Darwin
Posts: 552
Here is a few others
http://www.kendrickastro.com/powerpanels.html
http://www.primalucelab.com/astronom...otography.html
A bit expensive though
George
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-05-2016, 11:47 AM
glend (Glen)
Registered User

glend is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lake Macquarie
Posts: 5,316
I use the mbeat 7 port hub (4 usb3, and 3 usb2) and never had a problem. It is available locally. Has a push button switch for each port. Usb3s are backward compatible i think. That hub was recommended to me by fellow iis users when i asked the question.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-05-2016, 09:06 AM
PRejto's Avatar
PRejto (Peter)
Registered User

PRejto is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,290
I can highly recommend the Digiport powered hubs. They run off 12 volts and mine has been rock solid. I use the small 7 port model.

http://www.pbase.com/prejto/image/159103693

http://www.digi.com/products/usb-and...ivity/usb-hubs

Peter
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-05-2016, 05:06 PM
Shiraz's Avatar
Shiraz (Ray)
Registered User

Shiraz is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: ardrossan south australia
Posts: 4,787
not top line, but FWIW, have used 4 port and 7 port powered Belkin USB2 hubs for a couple of years with no issues at all, apart from the apparent fragility of the small input port (still not an issue). Needed a powered USB extension lead (from Jaycar) to reliably talk between the PC and the hub on the mount.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 09:13 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement