#1  
Old 26-02-2005, 01:29 PM
Exfso
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Orange Micro I-Bot Firewire Webcam

I have just connected this camera to my computer, and being firewire it is very much quicker than USB. All I need now is some hints on how to use this on my scope. I have an adapter for it to fit into the eyepiece end of the scope, so I gather it will pull in images. Any suggestions much appreciated.

Cheers.

Peter
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26-02-2005, 02:31 PM
iceman's Avatar
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

iceman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
Posts: 36,709
Have you taken the lens out?

Get k3ccd tools (version 1) to capture.. Can you post a screenshot of what capture settings you can set? (ie: shutter speed, frame rate, gain, etc)?

I'll answer more (or someone else will) later, sorry, I gotta run Gotta do the mowing
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26-02-2005, 03:04 PM
Exfso
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Yep taken lens out and screwed in the adapter. It fits just like a normal eyepiece would on the scope. Might do a little experimentation tonight.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26-02-2005, 03:43 PM
iceman's Avatar
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

iceman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
Posts: 36,709
Getting crisp focus is the first challenge. Start making a hartman mask, it's really easy and will help you focus on a star first, before you slew back to the planet/moon to capture.

Then it's capture settings.

Then it's post-processing.

Good luck can't wait to see how they turn out.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26-02-2005, 07:27 PM
Exfso
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I know there will be a fairly steep learning curve. A hartman mask for the Tak. Hmm must ponder on that one, the dew shield is only 180mm diam. Will have to work out what to use for that.
Thanks for the info so far. BTW it appears as though K3ccdTools needs to be registered after 30 days useage.

Thanks,

Peter
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26-02-2005, 08:01 PM
iceman's Avatar
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

iceman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
Posts: 36,709
Use version 1, it's free. You still need to update the key for it every 60 days or something, but version 2 is the one that needs to be registered.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26-02-2005, 08:15 PM
Exfso
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks Iceman, what is the difference with the two versions, I gather the V1 would be a somewhat cutback version.

Peter
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26-02-2005, 08:20 PM
iceman's Avatar
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

iceman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
Posts: 36,709
For what we use it for, they're exactly the same. Unless you plan to use for guiding and other things (deepspace stuff), there's no need to get the new version.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 12:36 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement