Go Back   IceInSpace > General Astronomy > Astronomy Books and Media
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-12-2016, 09:37 PM
MortonH
Deprived of starlight

Lunar atlas recommendations?

Can anyone recommend a lunar atlas? I'm currently using the Moon phase maps from Astrovisuals but am looking for something a bit more detailed.

One caveat: I'm not very good at mentally flipping charts upside down or left to right so I really want something that will show me the moon as I see it through the eyepiece. The Astrovisuals maps came in electronic format as well as hard copy and the electronic copies covered all four possible orientations (i.e. north up/down, each with left/right view). I copied these files to my Android tablet and can easily select the one I need depending on the scope or binos I'm using.

Advice appreciated as always.
Old 05-12-2016, 07:47 AM
mental4astro (Alexander)
kids+wife+scopes=happyman

Hi Morton,

Virtual Moon Atlas is my ultimate resource. Can be configured not only to what ever view your scope gives, but also the level of detail, libration, date, scale, you name it, it's there. Notes not just the typical features, craters, riles, etc, but also pyroclastic flows & domes (volcanos) - something very few atlas do.

Free download too.

Below is a screen shots of the craters Posidonius & Alphonsus. The Numbers correspond to volcanic domes and/or pyroclastic deposits.

On my phone I carry the app "LunarMap HD". Also very good, but a step below Virtual Moon Atlas. The low res app is free, the higher res app has a small fee.

Out in the field I start with the app for gross nomenclature, and then refine my info with the laptop.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (Virtual Moon Atlas screen shot.jpg)
151.6 KB25 views
Click for full-size image (screen shot alphonsus.jpg)
149.3 KB20 views
Old 05-12-2016, 08:18 AM
MortonH
Deprived of starlight

Thanks Alex!
Old 05-12-2016, 10:12 AM
Robair (Robert)
Seeing is Not Believing

Gday Morton