#1  
Old 15-04-2010, 07:57 AM
Chris Southby (Chris)
Registered User

Chris Southby is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 59
Remote Camera Timer

Hi
Does anyone have recommendations on Remote Camera Timers?

Do the cheaper ones (like on the link below) work as well as the Canon branded option for about 5 times the price?

Cheers

Chris



http://cgi.ebay.com.au/New-Timer-Remote-for-Canon-400D-350D-450D-33-XTi-R8A9_W0QQitemZ110436476134QQcmdZVie wItemQQptZAU_Cameras_Photographic_A ccessories?hash=item19b686e4e6
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15-04-2010, 08:58 AM
erick's Avatar
erick (Eric)
Starcatcher

erick is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Shoalhaven Heads
Posts: 8,469
I bought a cheap one for my Pentax. It hasn't had a full workout as yet, but everything checked out just fine on the bench.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15-04-2010, 09:38 AM
lacad01's Avatar
lacad01 (Adam)
The sky is Messier here!

lacad01 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sydney, Aus
Posts: 2,586
Chris, I have two, one for a Canon 20D and one for a 450D, due to different remote release socket types. I can vouch that they're excellent value for money, no issues. Have used pretty much all the features from the simple remote release button to self timer to sequenced (time lapse), no problemo.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15-04-2010, 09:49 AM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 5,953
I have one for two years already, no problems (mine is Aputure, but looks exactly like this one)

It is always a good idea to avoid brand names: you pay the excessive price for a sticker only - because in many cases those gadgets are manufactured by the same sub-contractors anyway..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15-04-2010, 09:50 AM
Rob_K
Registered User

Rob_K is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bright, Vic, Australia
Posts: 2,098
Exactly what I'm after, thanks for the link Chris! Have purchased, free postage too!

Cheers -
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15-04-2010, 09:58 AM
Chris Southby (Chris)
Registered User

Chris Southby is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 59
Thanks Guys
I will get one and won't have to count to get exposures of longer than 30sec.

Cheers

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15-04-2010, 11:19 AM
lacad01's Avatar
lacad01 (Adam)
The sky is Messier here!

lacad01 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sydney, Aus
Posts: 2,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Southby View Post
Thanks Guys
I will get one and won't have to count to get exposures of longer than 30sec.

Cheers

Chris
How so . If you set the shutter to B (bulb) you can set the remote duration to anywhere up to 99:59:59 (hour/min/sec)
Oops, I'm a dill, didn't see the "won't"

Last edited by lacad01; 15-04-2010 at 11:23 AM. Reason: Can't count
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15-04-2010, 06:55 PM
mswhin63's Avatar
mswhin63 (Malcolm)
Registered User

mswhin63 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bertram, Western Australia
Posts: 3,327
I have the exact same unit as well. I found it basic operation excellent but am replacing mine with a high capacity battery pack with inbuilt timer. I believe the electronics and timer control for the battery pack is the same.

I also bought a wireless remote control which first worked brilliantly but i believe the battery is flat, the same happened with the above unit but they are cheap enough.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16-04-2010, 07:23 PM
adman (Adam)
Seriously Amateur

adman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,279
I got one of the Aputure ones also - from Hong Kong I think via eBay. Has been great - no problems. Although there is no off switch, and they do not power down automatically, so the battery tends to run out in 6 months or so - but it is easy enough to take the battery out if you want....

Adam
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16-04-2010, 10:36 PM
mswhin63's Avatar
mswhin63 (Malcolm)
Registered User

mswhin63 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bertram, Western Australia
Posts: 3,327
I just tried mine out tonight and the timer function worked well exactly what the doctor ordered, although just before packing up the displayed clear and the functions stopped. I suspect it may be dry soldering easy enough for me to fix but not so easy for most people. Will report my findings later as I open it up. Too cheap to return under warranty, if it was a local supplier then would take it back.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 17-04-2010, 09:32 PM
Chris Southby (Chris)
Registered User

Chris Southby is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 59
Another useful 350D part

Mine should arrive next week and will hopefully have cloudless nights.

Has anyone tried one of these, as the 350D doesn't have live focusing. Trying to get focus when doing wide angle shots piggy backing is a bit tricky. Would this help?

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Dual-45-Split...iewItemQQptZAU

Cheers

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 17-04-2010, 10:48 PM
Phoenix's Avatar
Phoenix (Steve)
Happy Sensing!

Phoenix is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 243
Was never sure of these, but some positive comments here so I shall also give one a go - can't really go wrong for the price.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 18-04-2010, 05:01 AM
Analog6's Avatar
Analog6 (Odille)
Registered User

Analog6 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Glenorchy, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 430
I have an Aputure one, I just take the battery out when not in use. Works well.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 18-04-2010, 06:48 AM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 5,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by Analog6 View Post
I have an Aputure one, I just take the battery out when not in use. Works well.
Good idea ..
I did not and battery failed last Friday while I was on Johns Hill planning to take 2-min stacks (after pressing the illumination button which sucked the last remaining bit of power from it).. so I ended up with 30sec only
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 18-04-2010, 09:27 AM
mswhin63's Avatar
mswhin63 (Malcolm)
Registered User

mswhin63 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bertram, Western Australia
Posts: 3,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by bojan View Post
Good idea ..
I did not and battery failed last Friday while I was on Johns Hill planning to take 2-min stacks (after pressing the illumination button which sucked the last remaining bit of power from it).. so I ended up with 30sec only
When mine went flat ended up sitting on a chair behind with a manual trigger watching the timer countdown. I take mine out now.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 18-04-2010, 09:55 PM
erick's Avatar
erick (Eric)
Starcatcher

erick is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Shoalhaven Heads
Posts: 8,469
have just gone and taken one of the batteries out of mine - thanks
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 18-04-2010, 10:24 PM
mswhin63's Avatar
mswhin63 (Malcolm)
Registered User

mswhin63 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bertram, Western Australia
Posts: 3,327
Managed tonight to take 111 images all by using the timer control. Excellent product. Hasn't failed since the last time. Will still check.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 04:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement