#1  
Old 13-10-2015, 01:40 PM
LewisM
Novichok test rabbit

LewisM is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Somewhere in the cosmos...
Posts: 9,326
Hitecastro Mounthub Pro

Considering purchasing one, as I am sick and tired of 30 cables running all over the place.

I am about to fit my Sharpsky autofocus system - the mounthub pro has a focus port, as well as a hand controller port for the focuser - has anyone here used the Sharpsky with the mounthub pro successfully. It is not worth my purchase if it won't control the Sharpsky.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13-10-2015, 06:17 PM
Paul Haese's Avatar
Paul Haese
Registered User

Paul Haese is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 9,429
Lewis I don't know if it will work with the focusor. I was using the MHP with just the motor for a robo focus and it worked for quite a while until something went haywire. I now just use both units I have as power supplies only. I found for automation purposes it just seemed too inconsistent but that might actually be some of software glitch. In any event they are good for supplying power to the various pieces of kit I have on each system.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13-10-2015, 07:09 PM
troypiggo's Avatar
troypiggo (Troy)
Bust Duster

troypiggo is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 4,832
Not sure about the Sharpsky, but I use my MHP with Feathertouch and Moonlite focusers no problems. I am very confident it will work, as I understand the Sharpsky is just a 12V motor same as Moonlite. Note that the Feathertouch is 5V and had to get a custom cable with resistor inline to work. David from Hitecastro is extremely helpful and responsive, so drop him an email if you have concerns. I can't recommend his service highly enough.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14-10-2015, 11:39 AM
LewisM
Novichok test rabbit

LewisM is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Somewhere in the cosmos...
Posts: 9,326
Thanks All - shot David an inquiry.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15-10-2015, 06:15 PM
jamiep (Jamie)
Registered User

jamiep is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 361
Lewis,

yes - it will run the Sharpsky motor direct from the MHP (or it does with the Sharpsky i have and the MHP i have at least).

You'll not be able to access the temperature probe or use the temp compensation properly is the drawback.

Otherwise works well.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15-10-2015, 09:00 PM
RobF's Avatar
RobF (Rob)
Mostly harmless...

RobF is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 5,513
Very happy with mine perched on the FSQ. One USB and one 12V out is heaven. I just leave it attached and carry the whole rig about, ready to attach to mount and laptop whenever the sky clears.

Only just realised there is a GPS in there too recently
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15-10-2015, 10:08 PM
jamiep (Jamie)
Registered User

jamiep is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 361
also pretty handy being able to power all your devices, (mount, cam, rotator etc) and power them off individually without fiddling around with wires if you have an issue.

Done right, it's just two wires on and off the OTA.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 04:16 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement