#1  
Old 04-09-2014, 04:03 PM
AstroJason's Avatar
AstroJason (Jason)
Registered User

AstroJason is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 585
12V DC Power Adapter for Canon DSLR

Hi all,

Wondering if anyone has tried using one of these for their DSLR?

http://www.telescope.com/Orion-12V-D...?ensembleId=93

I'm not "electronically" minded so wouldn't know how to make one. But has anyone tried using one of these for long imaging runs?

Also and more importantly, does anyone know if there is a cheaper option which is available in Australia? Specifically for the Canon 6D?

Thanks,

Jason
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-09-2014, 04:11 PM
John K's Avatar
John K
Registered User

John K is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,369
I use a similar unit (240v) for my 400D.

It came from Hong Kong and was only like $20.00

You should try ebay.

http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from...DSLRs&_sacat=0

John K.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-09-2014, 04:34 PM
AstroJason's Avatar
AstroJason (Jason)
Registered User

AstroJason is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 585
Thanks John, good idea, checking ebay slipped my mind. Just a question though, I want to be able to use this with my 26Ah battery, not mains power. Could I say purchase this...

http://www.ebay.com/itm/AC-Power-Ada...item3cc9dfa107

Then rather than using the mains power cord, find a cord that plugs into this and then to my battery? Would that work?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-09-2014, 04:59 PM
killswitch's Avatar
killswitch (Edison)
Registered User

killswitch is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Western Sydney, NSW
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by AstroJason View Post
http://www.ebay.com/itm/AC-Power-Ada...item3cc9dfa107

Then rather than using the mains power cord, find a cord that plugs into this and then to my battery? Would that work?
Nah you would fry it, you need to step it down to 8v.

If you got the cash get this man:

http://www.kendrickastro.com/dew_con...icroController

The battery adapter for the 6D is a bit more.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-09-2014, 05:11 PM
John K's Avatar
John K
Registered User

John K is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,369
Quote:
Originally Posted by AstroJason View Post
Thanks John, good idea, checking ebay slipped my mind. Just a question though, I want to be able to use this with my 26Ah battery, not mains power. Could I say purchase this...

http://www.ebay.com/itm/AC-Power-Ada...item3cc9dfa107

Then rather than using the mains power cord, find a cord that plugs into this and then to my battery? Would that work?
I think a better bet is to contact the sellers of some of these ebay stores and try and get them to simply source a 12v unit for you with the car adaptor jack.

Also - you can simply email Peter Tan in HK who does the DSLR mod and he might be able to get a unit for you - that's what I did when he did the mod on my 400D.

John K.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-09-2014, 05:27 PM
AstroJason's Avatar
AstroJason (Jason)
Registered User

AstroJason is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 585
Thanks for the info John, I will keep that as an option.

Cheers Ed, this looks like a idea solution as it has the dew heater port also. Will look into it. Thanks mate
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 07:10 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
EQ8-R
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Star Adventurer
Advertisement
Astromechanics
Advertisement
Celestron RASA
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement