#21  
Old 15-11-2013, 11:43 AM
ZeroID's Avatar
ZeroID (Brent)
Lost in Space ....

ZeroID is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 4,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikolas View Post
I have one and love it (120mc) bought it off their website.
My only issue with it is you really need to make sure you use a blower and get all the dust specks off it.
A few saturn images over different nights and experimenting using my 127 ed with the 120 mc in poor conditions.
Yeah, I have an artefact on mine which has defied removal so far. It just changes position when I blow it.. must get the Loupe out and have a good look.

Haven't had a good look at the Autoguider feature yet in FireCapture, must read the instructions and figure it out. Might have a play with it using PHD first. Hopefully it will eliminate one cable to the pier as the camera has it's own ST4 connection and cable.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 19-11-2013, 09:10 PM
Domol's Avatar
Domol (Domenic)
Bring on the night!

Domol is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Melbourne Metro
Posts: 161
Hi all
I notice that there are 2 camera types zwo asi120mm & ASI130MM.
The 120MM has a 1/3 inch Chip & 130MM has 1/2" CMOS.
The 1/2 inch will give a larger field? yes? Is this good or bad for planetary work eg Jupiter? Thanks for your replies
Regards Dom
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 20-11-2013, 08:40 AM
ZeroID's Avatar
ZeroID (Brent)
Lost in Space ....

ZeroID is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 4,950
Bad, I think. Planets are pretty small viewing targets so a smaller chip with smaller pixels should get more data. A bigger chip would suit larger objects I beleive.
Anyone care to correct me or comment further ? I'm just getting into this end of astrophotography so still learning the ropes.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 20-11-2013, 09:23 AM
WingnutR32 (Sam)
Registered User

WingnutR32 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 283
Great review, Hugh. I instantly wanted to go buy a 120MC..

I am looking to replace my Starshoot AutoGuider with a lodestar, however this may work just as well. Hugh, when you say you didn't have to go searching for ASCOM drivers, is it still driven by ASCOM or its own software? I'm curious if MaximDL will be able to drive the camera as an autoguider.

I am assuming that I should not be comparing this to a Lodestar in terms of sensitivity.. Do you think it is more sensitive than the Orion StarShoot AutoGuider?

Edit: Yes, ASCOM + MaximDL works with this camera, found it on the ZWOptical website.

Last edited by WingnutR32; 20-11-2013 at 11:27 AM. Reason: Added ASCOM info
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 20-11-2013, 12:57 PM
torsion (Bram)
Registered User

torsion is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canberra
Posts: 87
Hi Sam,

You may want to look at the QHY5L-ii, it has the same form factor (e.g. 1.25" barrel) as the lodestar. The QHY5L-ii and the ZWO 120mm have the same cmos chip (I do not know it they have similar performance, although I would think they 'should').

You may find this thread on CN interesting, Detailed Lodestar vs. QHY5L-ii study. Someone mention that it works with Maxim as well.

I am using it as a OAG on my c9.25HD and it works great.
cheers,
Bram
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 22-11-2013, 12:48 PM
ZeroID's Avatar
ZeroID (Brent)
Lost in Space ....

ZeroID is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 4,950
I had to open my ZWO up. There was a miniscule pair of spots on the sensor itself. I'd cleaned the IR Glass several times but a close look with a micro viewer told me where it was. Used some optical fabric very carefully and it's gone now.
They need to run better clean rooms in the factory for this sort of stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 27-11-2013, 11:38 AM
67champ's Avatar
67champ
Registered User

67champ is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 211
Hello everyone (it's been a while since I posted),

I am seriously thinking about buying of of these... I mainly would be going for lunar images so I was thinking the 130MM with the 1/2" CMOS may be better (but I have no idea) :-)

Also, not using any cameras like this before i'm confused as to what the FOV will be as compare to maybe a 650D at prime focus...?

Thoughts?

Thanks!

Dana T
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 27-11-2013, 12:10 PM
Merlin66's Avatar
Merlin66 (Ken)
Spectroscopy Wizard

Merlin66 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St Leonards, Vic
Posts: 7,097
You can use CCDCalc to check out the FOV (and plate scale) of any telescope/ lens - camera combo.
http://www.newastro.com/book_new/camera_app.php
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 27-11-2013, 12:51 PM
ZeroID's Avatar
ZeroID (Brent)
Lost in Space ....

ZeroID is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 4,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by 67champ View Post
Hello everyone (it's been a while since I posted),

I am seriously thinking about buying of of these... I mainly would be going for lunar images so I was thinking the 130MM with the 1/2" CMOS may be better (but I have no idea) :-)

Also, not using any cameras like this before i'm confused as to what the FOV will be as compare to maybe a 650D at prime focus...?

Thoughts?

Thanks!

Dana T
I've started Lunar with a 2 x Barlow in the mix. Lunt 102mm F7. It's giving me some good closeup shots. First pic is in the photos\solar system threads.
I'll be giving the camera a go on the big 10" soon, could be interesting to say the least. Just got to go bulldoze a few clouds out of the way first ..
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 27-11-2013, 06:50 PM
EricB's Avatar
EricB (Eric)
Waiting for good seeing!

EricB is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeroID View Post
I had to open my ZWO up. There was a miniscule pair of spots on the sensor itself. I'd cleaned the IR Glass several times but a close look with a micro viewer told me where it was. Used some optical fabric very carefully and it's gone now.
They need to run better clean rooms in the factory for this sort of stuff.
I have had the same issue, Brent, and did what you did. Dust bunnies are the main issue with my ASI 120MM camera. It's a big problem when you do lunar imaging. I try to stay on top of things by cleaning the camera regularly.

Eric
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 28-11-2013, 09:31 AM
ZeroID's Avatar
ZeroID (Brent)
Lost in Space ....

ZeroID is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 4,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricB View Post
I have had the same issue, Brent, and did what you did. Dust bunnies are the main issue with my ASI 120MM camera. It's a big problem when you do lunar imaging. I try to stay on top of things by cleaning the camera regularly.

Eric
I'm keeping the IR window on mine unless necessity prevails. Easy enough to clean the window, I'm very cagey about touching the sensor, had to take a couple of deep breaths before I didi it his time.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 05-01-2014, 07:07 PM
ubique (Hugh)
Registered User

ubique is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 161
Where do you get them

I see a lot of people are asking where you can get these cameras from and a lot of people are buying them direct from Ali Express, Sirius Optics is the Australian distributor for them, they have the ASI 120MC for $370.00 and the ASI 120MM for $395.00 and by the time you factor in exchange rates and shipping its cheaper to buy them from Sirius than to buy direct. Plus you get a WARRANTY. If you buy direct and anything goes wrong you have to pay shipping back and forth where as if you buy in Australia you only have domestic postage to worry about or if you live close take it back to the shop.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 06-01-2014, 02:47 PM
ZeroID's Avatar
ZeroID (Brent)
Lost in Space ....

ZeroID is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 4,950
Check out the sunspots done with ASI120
http://www.iceinspace.com.au/forum/s...00#post1047300
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 06-01-2014, 03:31 PM
rustigsmed's Avatar
rustigsmed (Russell)
Registered User

rustigsmed is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Mornington Peninsula, Australia
Posts: 3,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by ubique View Post
I see a lot of people are asking where you can get these cameras from and a lot of people are buying them direct from Ali Express, Sirius Optics is the Australian distributor for them, they have the ASI 120MC for $370.00 and the ASI 120MM for $395.00 and by the time you factor in exchange rates and shipping its cheaper to buy them from Sirius than to buy direct. Plus you get a WARRANTY. If you buy direct and anything goes wrong you have to pay shipping back and forth where as if you buy in Australia you only have domestic postage to worry about or if you live close take it back to the shop.
Does anyone know if they have the filter wheel option at Sirius? If so how much is that?

I have searched their website and no ZWO cameras are listed. I do note that the website is waaaay better than last time i checked it, but they seem to be missing out on quite a few sales by not updating with this product; which is disappointing especially if they have competitive pricing versus grey imports. I'm sure most australian customers would prefer to be supporting them if that is the actual case.


Russ
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 06-01-2014, 04:14 PM
Nikolas's Avatar
Nikolas (Nik)
Dazed and confused

Nikolas is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,340
Zwo do offer filters whether on a wheel i can't recall as I haven't been to their site in a while
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 06-01-2014, 09:29 PM
Domol's Avatar
Domol (Domenic)
Bring on the night!

Domol is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Melbourne Metro
Posts: 161
I got my ASI120 locally from Mitcham, Melbourne
http://www.opticscentral.com.au/
Maybe ask them about the ZWO filters / wheels
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 12-09-2014, 04:40 PM
julianh72 (Julian)
Registered User

julianh72 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Kelvin Grove
Posts: 1,208
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeroID View Post
Don't know if it works on Mac ....
Apologies for resurrecting an old thread, but I just bought an ASI120MC direct from ZWO. The supplied drivers disc comes with a folder labelled "Software | Mac" which has a single file: oaCapture-0.0.8.dmg (13.37 MB file)

I don't use Mac (the camera works brilliantly under Windows with the supplied FireCapture and AutoStakkert software!), so I don't know what this is, but I assume it's a Mac port of the "Open Astro Project" software: http://www.openastroproject.org/oacapture/

(Just thought I would post this for the benefit of any Mac users who might be contemplating looking at the ZWO cameras.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 03:40 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Astromechanics
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement