Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-02-2015, 07:47 AM
Cazamoline (Caroline)

Hello From A Newbie

Hello everyone!

Complete newbie here who has just received her brand new telescope from Astro Pete's (8" Dobsonian that comes highly recommended for beginners). I'm very much looking forward to exploring and learning more about this wonderful solar system of ours and everything else beyond.

Old 04-02-2015, 08:13 AM
pluto (Hugh)
Astro Noob

Old 04-02-2015, 08:51 AM
ZeroID (Brent)
Lost in Space ....

Hi Caroline and to IIS.
Good start, an 8" DOB should give you some awesome views. If you haven't already downloaded it I suggest you get Stellarium (Free) on your PC so you start identifying the things you want to find and see. You can set it up to show the sky from your location. If you want to start with something spectacular have a look for M42, Orions Sword. It is just above the three stars that form his belt and in a good position for viewing at this time of year.

Ask plenty of questions, we're all here to help and hopefully give good advice.

Cheers
Brent
Old 04-02-2015, 10:01 AM
Sconesbie (Scott)

Welcome Caroline. You'll certainly enjoy it. I'm only fairly new to Astronomy too but absolutely loving it. Orion Nebula (M42) is fairly easy to find. Have fun, I'm sure you will.
Old 04-02-2015, 12:01 PM
barx1963 (Malcolm)
Bright the hawk's flight

Caroline
Well done on getting an 8" dob. There will be a few things you will learn as you go along, finding targets, collimation, dew prevention, eyepieces. etc.
If you have any queries, just ask!
First thing you have to do is align the finderscope so you can find stuff and then take it out and have a go at the moon and later in the evening, Jupiter (Jupiter is the very bright object in the north east at the moment)
Do that will get you used to moving the scope and finding objects.