Old 21-06-2020, 10:57 PM
Space-man (Pete)

Happy for some help.

Hey guys,
My name is Pete.
I am film maker by profession so am excited to explore the film and photography opportunities available to me through a telescope.

Last night was the very first time I've set up my telescope and in fact the very first time I've ever looked through a telescope.

It was challenging.
I have a Sky Rover 72 Super ED Doublet APO
Mounted on an EQ5 Go To Mount.

This is also the first time I've ever posted any kind of message in a forum, if you can believe it.

I've recently made the dive into astronomy.
I'm completely new to it.
I am not familiar with a lot of the language that is being used in the conversations I've glanced over.

I'm looking forward to learning a lot and getting some great advice.

My number one question is some advice on what targets I should look for in the sky. I'd like to get my daughters (8, 11, 13yrs) excited about it too and would love to show them some interesting objects in the night sky.

My second question is some advice on what targets I should try photographing. I have a Canon 1DXmkii but don't know what to take pics of.
I'd be interested in trying things that are simple and easy to start with before attempting anything to complex.
Old 21-06-2020, 11:33 PM
jayconnor (Jay)

The first thing I'd be pointing that scope at is the moon. Getting your children onto that I think would be awesome f for that. Have you been able to polar align your mount yet?
Old 21-06-2020, 11:38 PM
Mickoid (Michael)

Welcome to the forum Pete. Anything bright will be a good starting point and as Jay has pointed out, you can't go past the moon to begin with. It's big, bright and full of surface details that will test out your focus and exposure skills pretty quickly. It will also give you the experience of testing out what different eyepieces do and generally how to operate your telescope mount.