Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Equipment Discussions

Old 27-08-2014, 01:02 PM
snappycow (Riley)

Smile Refractor vs. Reflector & other advice

Hi,

Family wants to buy our relative (a long time astronomer) a good telescope (ball park $1200 AUD) for a significant upcoming birthday. Unfortunately we can't ask him a preference as it's a surprise. I know in the past he mentioned refractors and reflectors but honestly, I'm a complete noob with this info so was hoping to get some advice here on what to get.

He loves star gazing obviously and it would be for this purpose mainly.

Any suggestions on type of scope, brand, etc would be welcome.

EDITED to add a little more info:

1. It'd be used visually (photography nice but not necessary).

2. Relative had mentioned a few things regarding a gizmo mount?

3. Relative also referred to an 8' reflector mirror.

Note: I'm not sure if a reflector is better than a refractor?

USE: Basically a decent telescope for looking at the stars is all I know, getting a closer view than what he has with current 'scope. Solar flares, sun spots, all o' that. I realize that makes me sound incredibly lame but honestly, this isn't my field so I'm out of my element.

We were going to consider cash or a voucher but in the end he'd never purchase it himself so we're going to have to try and make our best educated guess here.

Anything's better than the old one he has now. Many TIA for everyone's help and advice. I realize I'm not providing a lot to go on but it's awkward because I ask any further questions I'll arouse suspicion.

Let me just state that his current telescope is rather old that anything of quality would probably be an improvement at this stage.

Last edited by snappycow; 29-08-2014 at 08:58 AM. Reason: More info
Old 27-08-2014, 01:26 PM
casstony