Old 19-05-2019, 12:55 PM
morls (Stephen)
Space is the place...

First imaging advice please?

Hi,
I'm interested in doing some planetary and lunar imaging. My scope is an f/15 180 mak, and will be on a NEQ6 soon.

I'm going to get a reflector sometime in the future, but would like to have a crack at some basic imaging with what I have. I have zero experience with all things photographic beyond taking pictures with my phone for eBay and classifieds here.
With a budget in mind of around $400, what would be a recommended starting point? The gear I have is in my signature, so all I'm looking at is the capture device.
Bearing in mind the limited budget, these are my questions:

1)should I consider a second hand camera?
2)what are the advantages/disadvantages of colour vs monochrome CMOS?

Considering all options, including used/second hand equipment.

Thanks in advance
Stephen
Old 19-05-2019, 01:49 PM
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

You could get a second hand ZWO camera. That would work both for moon and planets.
Old 19-05-2019, 01:56 PM
morls (Stephen)
Space is the place...

Thanks Marc.
Should I consider pixel size, sensor size etc, or is it not necessary at this price point/level of experience?
Old 19-05-2019, 04:24 PM
leon

Stephen go for it but do you realise once you have caught the imaging bug there is no cure, and you will be broke forever.

Leon
Old 19-05-2019, 05:06 PM
morls (Stephen)
Space is the place...

Well, it'll be slim pickings for the imaging bug, the recording studio bug has already picked me clean...
Old 20-05-2019, 10:30 AM
sil (Steve)
Not even a speck of dust