Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Equipment Discussions

Old 20-08-2017, 05:08 AM
Dayna (Dayna)

Lightbulb What to buy for my daughter?

Hi I am new here. Also I am new with astronomy as well.
I joined here for my daughter. She is 4 yo and has lots of interests in space.
She asked me to buy her a telescope for her Christmas Giftt, so she can see the moon properly.
But me and my hubby has no idea about telescopes. I know that we can walk to shopping centre and can just buy one. But at least we want to buy proper and decent one so she can use it for a few years with no problems.
As she is saving some money for the telescope (as I asked her to do), our budget is $200-$300.
Any recommendations would be appreciated.
Thanks
Old 20-08-2017, 08:43 AM
astro744

Welcome!

There is no one perfect telescope even for a 4 yo. I could recommend a handful of different 'scopes as will others. Do you or your husband have an interest in the stars too?

I think for your budget you could get a short 80/400 (f5) refractor on an AZ3 mount. (About $250). It will show you the Moon and low power sweeps of the stars. It will show you the planets but you need a 3x Barlow in your kit and use it with an eyepiece between 9 and 12mm. The 15mm Superview eyepiece is wonderful for this telescope. One thing you will learn though is that this telescope shows chromatic aberration on planets (any short achromatic refractor does). Another option is a 70/700 (f10) refractor but also on an AZ3 mount if you can get it as the mount usually offered is not very good.

Either of the above telescopes you can keep for a lifetime (especially 80/400) but it won't be your last telescope. If her interest grows then perhaps at the age of 11-13 you could get a 6" f 8 Dobsonian or an 8" f6 Dobsonian.