Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > ATM and DIY Projects
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-07-2020, 06:59 PM
dikman (Richard)

Lathe mod

I changed the motor on my larger lathe to a 3-phase with a VFD, so I now have a variable speed lathe, adjustable from the front panel. Should have done it years ago.
I've also been unhappy with the accuracy of the 3-jaw chuck, so I ground the jaws and took the twist out of the bed. Final result is runout of 0.0004" over 13" (was about 0.015 before).
Old 06-07-2020, 09:32 AM
bojan
amateur

Which VFD you used, and how did you ground the jaws?
With my smaller chuck (Ø80mm, ~$75) there is no way to improve the accuracy with grounding, because it seems the spiral is offset, so position of the center depends on diameter... I am using it now as vice for round things when drilling.
Old 06-07-2020, 12:30 PM
doug mc

I was a machinist for 50 years. Get a four jaw and center your work. They hold whatever you are machining better and safer.
Old 06-07-2020, 06:45 PM
dikman (Richard)

I have a large 4-jaw chuck, of course, and yes, it is the only choice where the best accuracy possible is needed. The 3-jaw is just more convenient for most jobs, particularly now that it's a lot more accurate than it was. A 3-jaw, however, will never be as accurate as a 4-jaw.

As for grinding the jaws, I made a holder to clamp a Dremel in the toolpost and made a ring to fit over the outside part of the jaws so that the jaws could be tensioned against it. This was the method recommended on a couple of youtube vids. The chuck was rotated at about 100 rpm and a suitable grinding wheel fitted to the Dremel (rotating opposite to the chuck) and slowly wound in and out so that it only just touched the jaws. Coating the jaws with a black marker helps to see what is being ground off. I found that tensioning the jaws with the ring, however, gave inconsistent results as it caused the grind to be at a slight angle, front to back.