Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Astrophotography and Imaging Equipment and Discussions

Old 24-07-2010, 11:20 AM
robz (Robert)

Question Common CCD SECURITY cameras and USB adaptor?

Hi Guys, just an idea as I am new to astrophotography.
At the moment, all the webcams around are CMOS based, even the more expensive Logitechs, Microsoft etc.

I know about the TOUCAM but they're not available in W.A.

I was thinking along the lines of using one of Jaycar Electronics higher quality security cameras and a VIDEO to USB 2.0 convertor box?

Is this a possibility for any good planetary imaging?
Or, is it a waste of effort and money?

Cheers
Rob.
Old 24-07-2010, 02:22 PM
wasyoungonce (Brendan)
Certified Village Idiot

I had a look at the jaycar cameras. IMHO this is not the the best option.

Most, as you said, have a video out & you have to convert this. I suspect control of shutter speed and other things like gain will be poor to non existent for these cameras.

The basic Web cams have a myriad of software controls that make them more suitable for your needs. I know the old ToUcam is no longer available but I suspect there are many suitable web-cams are out there, indeed new ones, that have better resolution than the old ToUcam.

You just need to research & trawl the net. Try these links, here and here here.
Old 24-07-2010, 07:20 PM
robz (Robert)

Thanks wasy, those are great links.
Yeah, I see your point.........either a good webcam or dedicated imaging device seems the way to go.

Webcam specs are so confusing as is CCD vs CMOS..............can't decide if all the hype on CCD's is justified........CMOS has come a LONG way
Old 24-07-2010, 08:02 PM
wasyoungonce (Brendan)
Certified Village Idiot

Quote:
Originally Posted by robz View Post
Thanks wasy, those are great links.
Yeah, I see your point.........either a good webcam or dedicated imaging device seems the way to go.