Go Back   IceInSpace > General Astronomy > General Chat

Old 09-06-2019, 11:54 PM
Ukastronomer (Jeremy)
Feel free to edit my imag

Cars mean nothing to me

In other words whilst I love my car that I bought new in 2006 and look after it I am not a car nut, even though I am a professional sports photographer and shoot for a glossy magazine (NO there is no money in it these days just the love of Photography)

But am I alone in the amount of car cleaners etc I have mainly Auto Glym and Meguiars.

I have just replaced the door cards, don't know what you cal them over there, the inner part of the car doors, and am renovating the car, mainly because it is where I keep all my camera gear and scopes through the summer for days/weekends away
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (Dscn0399.jpg)
54.2 KB59 views
Old 10-06-2019, 06:39 AM
xelasnave
Gravity does not Suck

I just bought a new car..I had too. The old one was manual and only 1200cc which suited me as it was economical but with my crook legs I had to get an auto. I was very savage on the clutch. Birnt thru one and well into a second☺. Also the gear box was on the way out... The auto is great and has cruise control both of which makes life much better...such small matters but changed the trip North by being less stressful. And I can set cruise control and exercise my legs which is wonderful.
But cars to me are just transport and nothing else. I find it amusing so many treat their car like a toy or status symbol and think that the engine noise reflects their masculinity. My cars are not mistreated but are not always clean and that is not cause I am slack but cleaning it is such an effort I just cant do it as often as I would like.
Maybe having to use a car as a business tool took the toy thing out of it for me.
I was going to get a van to put a bed in and basic camping stuff so as to do some outback astronomy but they felt too big...even this new car feels huge. .it is four door the old one was two...