ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Crescent
11.3%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
5:02 pm
Perth
2:02 pm
Auckland*
7:02 pm
New York
1:02 am
Paris
7:02 am
GMT
6:02 am




Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Equipment Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 13-01-2018, 05:10 PM
iborg's Avatar
iborg (Philip)
Registered User

iborg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Lynbrook, Australia
Posts: 214
Red cover for backlight keyboard?

Hi All

I have a nice new Dell laptop with a white light keyboard backlight.

Does anyone know where I can find very thin, translucent, red silicone sheet for a cover at night?

Thanks for any suggestions.

Philip

PS Still really not liking Win10!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13-01-2018, 06:12 PM
Greenswale's Avatar
Greenswale (Wren)
Registered User

Greenswale is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 305
Search eBay for red acetate sheet.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13-01-2018, 07:14 PM
iborg's Avatar
iborg (Philip)
Registered User

iborg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Lynbrook, Australia
Posts: 214
Thanks for the suggestion I'll look into it.

I would have guessed that acetate sheet was a bit on the stiff side for pressing the keys through.

Philip

Last edited by iborg; 13-01-2018 at 07:15 PM. Reason: clarity
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13-01-2018, 10:26 PM
that_guy (Tony)
Local Korean Millennial

that_guy is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 1,668
I usually just turn off backlit keyboard when im imaging. Theres no point to them if you know your qwerty
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13-01-2018, 10:32 PM
skysurfer's Avatar
skysurfer
Dark sky rules !

skysurfer is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: 52N 6E (EU)
Posts: 799
Quote:
Originally Posted by iborg View Post
Thanks for the suggestion I'll look into it.

I would have guessed that acetate sheet was a bit on the stiff side for pressing the keys through.

Philip
That would indeed be. I looked up on ebay, these are 0.3mm thick but are suitable for a touch screen.
Unfortunately, the color screens are all available but red :-(

So I ordered on amazon.de.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14-01-2018, 08:36 AM
LewisM's Avatar
LewisM
Xenomorph

LewisM is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Somewhere in the cosmos...
Posts: 6,886
Buy Lenovo - my laptop has red backlighting Works well, with stock 2 brightness levels.

You can buy red silicon keyboard form fit covers from China. Put in your laptop model and search.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15-01-2018, 12:08 PM
iborg's Avatar
iborg (Philip)
Registered User

iborg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Lynbrook, Australia
Posts: 214
Sounds good, I'll look into it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16-01-2018, 07:07 AM
iborg's Avatar
iborg (Philip)
Registered User

iborg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Lynbrook, Australia
Posts: 214
I have one on order that hopefully works well enough.

Most of those from ebay are clear silicone, with coloured sections over the keys. I think these would let through too much white light to work well.

Thanks for the suggestions.

Philip
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 25-01-2018, 08:05 PM
iborg's Avatar
iborg (Philip)
Registered User

iborg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Lynbrook, Australia
Posts: 214
Hi Lewis

The silicon cover arrived today and it fits very nicely indeed. A bit on the pink side, but, much better than the white.

It hadn't occurred to me that there were keyboard covers, which is why I was looking for plain red silicone.

Philip
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26-01-2018, 09:48 AM
LewisM's Avatar
LewisM
Xenomorph

LewisM is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Somewhere in the cosmos...
Posts: 6,886
They are a little pink but do work well. My wife has one on her laptop.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 04:02 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Esprit
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement