ANZAC Day
Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average.
Old 13-05-2009, 09:54 PM
AppleGecko (Brent)

Help: Need opinions on which telescope to buy

Hey all,

Im new to astrononmy, but i know the basics. I would like to buy a telelscope soon, but am not sure which type or where to get one, preferebly under $400.00 AUD. I am looking on andrewscom.com at the moment at a Guan Sheng GS-580 6" Limited 150mm x 1200mm Dobsonian ($299.00 AUD)

Help would be greatly appreciated

Thankyou in advance,

Brent (AppleGecko)
Old 13-05-2009, 10:48 PM
GeoffW1 (Geoff)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AppleGecko View Post
Hey all,

Im new to astrononmy, but i know the basics. I would like to buy a telelscope soon, but am not sure which type or where to get one, preferebly under $400.00 AUD. I am looking on andrewscom.com at the moment at a Guan Sheng GS-580 6" Limited 150mm x 1200mm Dobsonian ($299.00 AUD)

Help would be greatly appreciated

Thankyou in advance,

Brent (AppleGecko)
Hi Brent,

You will know that the contest is between a reflector and a refractor. You get more aperture (and you see fainter objects) for your money in a dob reflector, but this will require you to become more intimate with your scope and learn to collimate (align) the thing. You must do this for good seeing or your money is wasted.

Generally these scopes are bulkier and it can become a problem if you want to transport them to someplace with darker skies.

There is a huge range of quality and cost in refractors, and some can be collimated, others not. The scopes which have no such adjustment may be quite OK even so, if you spend a few dollars more.

If you buy one of these refractor scopes it will probably be easy to transport but not quite as acute. For dark skies this will possibly not be a bother, but in light polluted locations it will be a different story.