Go Back   IceInSpace > Images > Solar System

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 17-09-2020, 06:31 PM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 19,645
Loop of Jupiter & Europa

Here's an anim I did of Jupiter and Europa last Tuesday.

http://www.astropic.net/astro/jupiter_20200915.gif

Last edited by multiweb; 17-09-2020 at 07:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17-09-2020, 06:34 PM
Hisanori's Avatar
Hisanori (Hisanori)
Registered User

Hisanori is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Sydney (Hornsby Heights, NSW 2077)
Posts: 81
Wow very nice!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17-09-2020, 06:40 PM
Dennis
Dazzled by the Cosmos.

Dennis is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 11,099
Excellent animation Marc, with an impressive image scale and lovely detail, well done.

Cheers

Dennis
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17-09-2020, 07:00 PM
cken (Jack)
Registered User

cken is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Silverwater
Posts: 13
Wow, so cool!

Can I ask how long did you take for that?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17-09-2020, 07:13 PM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 31,590
Brilliant, gorgeous
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17-09-2020, 07:45 PM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 19,645
Thanks a lot guys.
Still learning to focus.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cken View Post
Wow, so cool!

Can I ask how long did you take for that?
I'll have to check but a few hours I reckon.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17-09-2020, 08:53 PM
DarkArts
Professional Farnarkler

DarkArts is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Canberra ... I could go on
Posts: 400
That's about as good as the raw footage from the Voyager 2 flyby.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17-09-2020, 09:07 PM
RichardJ (Richard)
Registered User

RichardJ is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Carlingford
Posts: 790
fabuleux!

Richard.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17-09-2020, 09:41 PM
Mickoid (Michael)
Registered User

Mickoid is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 931
Wonderful job there Marc, one of the best I've seen. How did you get your GIF so large? Really looks impressive.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18-09-2020, 06:36 AM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 19,645
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkArts View Post
That's about as good as the raw footage from the Voyager 2 flyby.
Thanks mate. I wish.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardJ View Post
fabuleux!

Richard.
Merci beaucoup.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mickoid View Post
Wonderful job there Marc, one of the best I've seen. How did you get your GIF so large? Really looks impressive.
I've attached my settings. I upscale 150% as advised by Trevor Barry. Got heaps of good tips from Anthony Wesley as well on what to do and not to do. Top blokes both of them. As a noob just getting started in Planetary imaging their help has been invaluable and saved me a lot of guess work and pain. I wish they were more like them in the astro community willing to share and teach because in the end that's what it's all about, progress as a group and enjoy the hobby to the full

I try to focus correctly but still guessing most of the time even with stabilize turned on in FireCapture. I find that very challenging most of the time so if anyone has a good trick for it or a repeatable method I'm all ears.

Here's what I've done for these.

In AS!3 I try to use multi scale AP. Emil video says it gives a better overlap and results. Trevor sets his manually but his data is far superior. This works for my data for now.

I also found that although AS!3 may say you have only 25% or 40% of frames above the 50% quality it pays to slide the frames and check visually. Often the frames at the tail end still look ok so I stack them. This results in better SNR and the loss of details is not significant if you're careful not to include really dodgy ones. Easier to process and sharpen later in Registax 6.

In Registax 6 I do in order the sharpening, contrast/brightness to set the black point then color balance, rotate and upscale 150% with Mitchell algo.

That ugly double limb on the bright side I mask/feather in PS. You can spend time using the deringing in Registax 6 to do a better job but that's just how much time I was willing to spend on it.

Then in PS you do your colour saturation/cropping, load all layers to an animated GIF 0.2s per frame and that's pretty much it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (AS!3_jup_processing_sf.jpg)
199.8 KB17 views
Click for full-size image (REG6_jup_processing_sf.jpg)
195.9 KB17 views

Last edited by multiweb; 18-09-2020 at 06:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 18-09-2020, 11:10 AM
Saturnine (Jeff)
Registered User

Saturnine is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wollongong
Posts: 1,359
An excellent animation Marc, great detail.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 18-09-2020, 12:05 PM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 19,645
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saturnine View Post
An excellent animation Marc, great detail.
Thanks Jeff.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 18-09-2020, 12:30 PM
Atmos's Avatar
Atmos (Colin)
Ultimate Noob

Atmos is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,859
Very nice Marc, great to see it rotating!
What is the gap between frames? 20 minutes?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 18-09-2020, 01:10 PM
jahnpahwa (JP)
Registered User

jahnpahwa is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Canberra, AUS
Posts: 340
I second the voyager fly-by remark... this definitely looks like you were right there. Amazing job, mate
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 18-09-2020, 01:52 PM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 19,645
Any of you guys using Sharpcap to capture instead of FireCapture? I just noticed I can get ~140fps in Sharpcap with the native driver opposed to ~50fps in FireCapture with the ASCOM driver for the same gain/exposure settings. Big difference. I think I'm going to can FireCapture and use Sharpcap instead from now on.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Atmos View Post
Very nice Marc, great to see it rotating!
What is the gap between frames? 20 minutes?
Thanks Colin. I captured for 180s then a delays of 3s and do it all over again unless I refocused and there's a meridian flip somewhere in there too so you can see the jump.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jahnpahwa View Post
I second the voyager fly-by remark... this definitely looks like you were right there. Amazing job, mate
Thanks mate.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 18-09-2020, 04:43 PM
Peter Ward's Avatar
Peter Ward
Galaxy hitchhiking guide

Peter Ward is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The Shire
Posts: 7,085
That's very impressive. Good write-up too.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 18-09-2020, 06:31 PM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 19,645
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Ward View Post
That's very impressive. Good write-up too.
Thanks Peter. Still a work in progress. I figured out my low frame rate for both OSC and mono was linked to the ASCOM driver. The native driver has no issue whatsoever so I should be able to get a much better SNR and finally focus properly.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 18-09-2020, 07:57 PM
RichardJ (Richard)
Registered User

RichardJ is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Carlingford
Posts: 790
Quote:
Originally Posted by multiweb View Post
Any of you guys using Sharpcap to capture instead of FireCapture? I just noticed I can get ~140fps in Sharpcap with the native driver opposed to ~50fps in FireCapture with the ASCOM driver for the same gain/exposure settings. Big difference. I think I'm going to can FireCapture and use Sharpcap instead from now on.



Thanks Colin. I captured for 180s then a delays of 3s and do it all over again unless I refocused and there's a meridian flip somewhere in there too so you can see the jump.



Thanks mate.
Hi Marc,

I use SharpCap Pro. It just works so well with my set up for both Planetary & Deep Sky.

Richard
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 18-09-2020, 07:59 PM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 19,645
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardJ View Post
Hi Marc,

I use SharpCap Pro. It just works so well with my set up for both Planetary & Deep Sky.

Richard
Thanks for the feedback Richard. How do you like the focus assist tools? Which one do you prefer for planetary?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 18-09-2020, 08:07 PM
RichardJ (Richard)
Registered User

RichardJ is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Carlingford
Posts: 790
Quote:
Originally Posted by multiweb View Post
Thanks for the feedback Richard. How do you like the focus assist tools? Which one do you prefer for planetary?
Hi Marc,

I just magnify the image and get best focus by eyesight.
I havenít explored using the focus assist tools. Maybe I should.

Richard
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 08:34 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Limpet Controller
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement