Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Astrophotography and Imaging Equipment and Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 28-03-2012, 07:39 AM
cventer's Avatar
cventer
Registered User

cventer is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 957
STX 16803 - pulled the trigger now which scope?

Got a deal on brand new sbig stx 16803 that I could not refuse so pulled the trigger.

With pending arrival in 4 to 6 weeks of my Orion Optics AG-10 it's going to be a hard choice what camera to put on it.

What's your views on which camera for which scope.

I have stf-8300 arriving shortly as well. Sbig finally shipped it to Peter Ward.

So I am thinking side by side setup of Ag-10 and fsq106

Thinking stf8300 on fsq106 and stx16803 on ag-10

Thoughts ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28-03-2012, 05:06 PM
Mighty_oz (Marcus)
Registered User

Mighty_oz is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Atm somewhere in Perth
Posts: 575
Choices choices lol Well the stf would be good on the AG10 when u want to get that bit closer and the stx would give fantastic wide fields with the FSQ. Make it so that u can easily change camera's and u can do whatever whenever
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28-03-2012, 05:20 PM
gregbradley's Avatar
gregbradley
Registered User

gregbradley is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 15,409
Use either on both would be the most flexible setup.

16803 is by far the best chip and it looks good on all scopes.

Greg.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28-03-2012, 05:54 PM
rally
Registered User

rally is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 896
CVenter,

Here's my choice for two reasons - based on the vignetting and off axis performance with the AG10, and more importantly the choice of image scales I would be putting the big chip onto the FSQ106 and the ST8300 onto the AG10

The SBIG 16803 camera has the main chip and a guide chip in the image circle so the effective image circle is quite large.

1.16 - image scale AG10/8300
2.12 - image scale FSQ/8300
1.95 - image scale AG10/16803
3.50 - image scale FSQ/16803

So if you put the FSQ with the 8300 you end up with the same image scale as the AG10 with the 16803 !
Not a huge point in that for flexibility

This then gives you one Narrow field at 1.16asec/pix and one wide field at 3.5asec/pix

Just my 2c worth
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28-03-2012, 06:51 PM
Peter Ward's Avatar
Peter Ward
Galaxy hitchhiking guide

Peter Ward is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The Shire
Posts: 6,631
Chris , I'd bail on the AG10....but suspect you are not in a position to do so.

The STX is not really a narrow field camera unless you can afford to run a serious aperture well corrected scope.

I think you will be shocked by its size.

With the CFW (rolling 65mm square filters) it's a BIG camera. Most focusers vignette, sag or do both.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28-03-2012, 07:23 PM
bert's Avatar
bert (Brett)
Automation nut

bert is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bathurst
Posts: 667
After you work out how difficult it is to get the collimation to a point that you are happy with the entire field with 16803, I'll bet the 8300 will be on the ag10 and the 16803 will be on the FSQ, which is tried and tested, and does not need to be collimated.

Big chips + fast newts = collimation hell IMHO.

Brett
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28-03-2012, 07:33 PM
Poita (Peter)
Registered User

Poita is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NSW Country
Posts: 3,585
I'll second that notion. Collimating Newts drives me crazy, I can't imagine trying to manage on the aircraft carrier that is the 16803 CCD.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28-03-2012, 07:49 PM
cventer's Avatar
cventer
Registered User

cventer is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 957
Thanks guys. Now you have scared me.

The AG10 has an FLi Atlas focuser with same opening size as Mike Sidoneo's AG12. Plus it has the reinforced rings on the OTA connected to focuser, so hopefully I dont see sag. Collimation on the other hand scares me a lot. So you may be right with STX ending up on FSQ.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28-03-2012, 08:07 PM
Mighty_oz (Marcus)
Registered User

Mighty_oz is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Atm somewhere in Perth
Posts: 575
Quote:
Originally Posted by cventer View Post
So you may be right with STX ending up on FSQ.
And that would be a problem ? Having one of the best camera's on one of the best scopes lol. I wish.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28-03-2012, 08:40 PM
RobF's Avatar
RobF (Rob)
Mostly harmless...

RobF is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 5,492
Quote:
Originally Posted by cventer View Post
Thanks guys. Now you have scared me.

The AG10 has an FLi Atlas focuser with same opening size as Mike Sidoneo's AG12. Plus it has the reinforced rings on the OTA connected to focuser, so hopefully I dont see sag. Collimation on the other hand scares me a lot. So you may be right with STX ending up on FSQ.
Doesn't Mike run a 16803 FLI, or is the STX bigger again?
And while we're at it, why hasn't Mike posted any pictures from last weekend yet!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 28-03-2012, 09:49 PM
cventer's Avatar
cventer
Registered User

cventer is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 957
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobF View Post
Doesn't Mike run a 16803 FLI, or is the STX bigger again?
And while we're at it, why hasn't Mike posted any pictures from last weekend yet!
STX 16803 is 5 Pounds
Proline 16803 is 5.5 Pounds

So very similar weight. Although I think STX filter wheel is heavier so probably end up similar weight.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 29-03-2012, 05:13 PM
bmitchell82's Avatar
bmitchell82 (Brendan)
Newtonian power! Love it!

bmitchell82 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mandurah
Posts: 2,597
Collimation of Big newts is not a issue if you have the right equipment!!!!! Everybody gets so scared of them because of all the "issues" that get posted.

Low quality or budget newts bang a mirror in a tube with a focuser and away we blow 400 dollars later equal flexure and other associated issues

a OOUK AG10 is no such beast, its CF, precision made mirror cell and couple that with a bohemith FLI Atlas focuser you shouldn't have issues.

Look at a Autocollimator for your collimation they are truely the way to go. I don't work for nor get any spin offs but Cats eye gear does the job extremely well! A laser collimator no matter how much you spend on it will not get anywhere close to the accuracy of a autocollimator even with the barlow adaptors. I guess its not till you see them in practice that you will understand

Getting a flat field on a 16803 chip can be done mikes AG12 is a testiment to that. Yes it will take you a short while to figure your feet out but I don't see that you will be changing the setup for a while yet unless you go for the next size up!

My 2c worth
Brendan
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 30-03-2012, 07:16 PM
strongmanmike's Avatar
strongmanmike (Michael)
Woohoo it's clear

strongmanmike is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canberra
Posts: 14,658
Hi Chris

I'd bail on the STX mate huge can of worms Get a ProLine before it's too late to go back better camera by all standards, just look at how many are out there being used veeeery successfully .

Having two scopes and two cameras is fantastic, you will be in a great position .

It's a no brainer, I'd put the 16803 on the AG10 and the 8300 on the FSQ, then use the FSQ to gather the RGB and the AG10 to get the deeeep Lum or Ha all at the same time

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 30-03-2012, 07:19 PM
strongmanmike's Avatar
strongmanmike (Michael)
Woohoo it's clear

strongmanmike is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canberra
Posts: 14,658
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobF View Post
And while we're at it, why hasn't Mike posted any pictures from last weekend yet!
A family crisis ...but this weekend (Sat???) should prove better..I hope.

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 30-03-2012, 08:17 PM
clive milne
Registered User

clive milne is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Freo WA
Posts: 1,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by strongmanmike View Post
Hi Chris

I'd bail on the STX mate huge can of worms Get a ProLine before it's too late to go back better camera by all standards, just look at how many are out there being used veeeery successfully .


Mike
Also look at how often Proline's come up for sale second hand.... ~never~
That should tell you everything.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 30-03-2012, 09:25 PM
cventer's Avatar
cventer
Registered User

cventer is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 957
Quote:
Originally Posted by clive milne View Post
Also look at how often Proline's come up for sale second hand.... ~never~
That should tell you everything.
Oh well I guess my lowly STX 16803 will just have to do
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 30-03-2012, 09:31 PM
clive milne
Registered User

clive milne is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Freo WA
Posts: 1,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by cventer View Post
Oh well I guess my lowly STX 16803 will just have to do

Don't get me wrong.. I'm jealous...
But I'd be more so if you had just bought a Proline.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 30-03-2012, 09:52 PM
Peter Ward's Avatar
Peter Ward
Galaxy hitchhiking guide

Peter Ward is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The Shire
Posts: 6,631
Quote:
Originally Posted by strongmanmike View Post
Get a ProLine before it's too late to go back better camera by all standards............

Mike
Really Mike? And one of your sponsor's is ???

Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 30-03-2012, 10:19 PM
cventer's Avatar
cventer
Registered User

cventer is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 957
Quote:
Originally Posted by clive milne View Post

Don't get me wrong.. I'm jealous...
But I'd be more so if you had just bought a Proline.
I did seriously consider that but given they were the same weight. 4 things tipped it in favour of stx

1. Self guding chip. Some people may say bah humbug to this but when you can use it its better than OAG and consumes no back focus. 2 nights ago i used my internal guide chip on st2000xm with Ha filter 7 second guide exposures. Stars were perfect

2. Remote guide head (if they ever enable it on STX)

3. CCDSoft integration and SkyX integration. Proline seems to mean Maxim DL if you want all features. I dont need more software to learn and CCDsoft initegrates with CCDCommander and my other cameras nicely.

4. Price. I got mine from an american guy who owned more cameras than he could use and had never even put his STX on a telescope yet. Saved me a LOT compared to Proline or new STX
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 30-03-2012, 10:23 PM
strongmanmike's Avatar
strongmanmike (Michael)
Woohoo it's clear

strongmanmike is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canberra
Posts: 14,658
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Ward View Post
Really Mike? And one of your sponsor's is ???

....

Proline Rules
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 09:12 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement